Kansas musicians to play in winds concert

The Symphonic Winds, Wind Ensemble and Jazz Ensemble I are teaming up for a concert at 8 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 6, in the Beach/Schmidt Performing Arts Center at Fort Hays State University.

Conducted by Gary Brattin, assistant professor of music, the Symphonic Winds pieces range from the 1920s to 2004 and include "The Witch and the Saint" by Steven Reineke, "Patapan" by Shelley Hanson, "Ave Maria" by Franz Biebl and adapted by Robert Cameron, "Martyr's Mirror" by David Weirich, and "Kitten on the Keys" by Zez Confrey and arranged by James C. Ripley.

The Jazz Ensemble, directed by Brad Dawson, assistant professor of music, will perform "Angels We Have Heard on High," "Adeste Fidelis" and "Good King Wenceslas," all arranged by Ralph Carmichael.

Songs by the Wind Ensemble, conducted by Dr. Jeff Jordan, assistant professor of music, include "Cityscape" by Scott Boerma, "First Suite in E-flat" by Gustav Holst, "October" by Eric Whitacre, "Shepherd's Hey" by Percy Aldridge Grainger and edited by Mark Rogers, and "March from Symphonic Metamorphosis" by Paul Hindemith.

The Wind Ensemble songs are older and range from the late 1800s to the mid-1990s.

FHSU students involved in the performance are listed by hometown and classification.

ABILENE: Chris Barlow, senior.
BARNES: James Fickbohm, freshman.
BUHLER: Zach Kesling, freshman, and Levi Spicer, freshman.
BURLINGTON: Kierston Kopfman, sophomore.
CAMBRIDGE, Neb.: Carmon Crawford, freshman.
CONCORDIA: Danielle Moore, freshman.
ELLIS: Krista Connelly, freshman; Emily Cox, freshman; Brian Keller, freshman; and Amber North, junior.
ESKRIDGE: Jennifer Warner, sophomore.
FENGSHAN CITY, Taiwan: Ekin Pei-Ting Wei, senior.
GREAT BEND: JoAnn Gaunt, freshman.

-- more --

Page 2/Winds Concert

HAYS: Rachel Bergman, freshman; Renetta Dawson, special graduate; Noel Delgado, freshman; Stephanie Demuth, freshman; Marjorie Flesher, sophomore; Nathan Frye, senior; Monica Goetz, special student; Anne Hengen, senior; Tyler Hughes, junior; Michelle Ireton, sophomore; Alexis Korbe, senior; Melia Korbe, freshman; Albert Kraus, junior; Michael Lucero, sophomore; Erin Mettlen, freshman; Derek Peroutek, sophomore; Melissa Salisbury, sophomore; Mallory Smith, freshman; Susanna Smith, sophomore; Alex Toepfer, senior; and Brandon Worf, junior.
HOISINGTON: Nathan Brown, junior.
HONG KONG, China: Ivy Chen, senior; Anny Chou, senior, and Angela Hsu, graduate student.
HUTCHINSON: Jonathan Yust, senior.
INMAN: Jake Haas, freshman.
KAOHSIUNG City, Taiwan: Vicky I-Ting Hsieh, senior.
LAKIN: Micah Dunn, freshman, and Keysha Urie, senior.
LEOTI: Lacey Fischer, freshman, and Chris Johnson, senior.
LIBERAL: Davie Murphy, sophomore.
LITTLETON, Colo.: Ryan Shofner, sophomore.
LOUISVILLE, Colo.: Blain Piner, freshman.
LYONS: Emily Cline, senior, and Katie Steinert, senior.
MANKATO: Levi Bohl, freshman.
MARIENTHAL: Matthew Baker, sophomore.
MARION: Joel Zeiner, freshman.
MEDICINE LODGE: Aaron Fortune, freshman.
NORTON: Brianne Nelson, freshman, and Abigail Rhoades, senior.
OVERLAND PARK: Katie Wildgen, freshman.
PLAINS: Guadalupe Herrera, freshman.
PLAINVILLE: Makenzi Rempe, senior.
PRATT: Ben Galloway, senior.
SALINA: Andrew Bauer, freshman; Trevor Duell, senior; Karen Funk, junior; Jay Miller, senior; Holly Peppersack, senior; and Sarah Schumacher, junior.
SCHOENCHEN: Jordan Bollig, sophomore.
SYLVAN GROVE: Kevin Palmer, freshman.
TOPEKA: Chad Foust, sophomore, and Nick Foust, freshman.
ULYSSES: Jarrett Henson, sophomore.
VALLEY CENTER: Jessica Tibbott, junior.
WAKEENEY: Jason Kucerik, senior.
WICHITA: Raven Charters, junior.
WINFIELD: Corey Anglemyer, special student.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu