Several FHSU staff receive Classified Awards

Several Fort Hays State University employees received Classified Staff scholarships for the 2007 summer term and fall semester.

In the fall of 2005, FHSU began offering a tuition assistance program for employees who have been employed by FHSU for one year and their families. As a result of the tuition assistance program, the Classified Senate voted in 2006 to use the donations in the Classified Scholarship Fund to assist staff with books and class material costs. Staff may receive a maximum award of $100 per fiscal year. Most of the funds for these awards are donated by FHSU classified employees and are managed by the FHSU Foundation.

Tammy Winters, a senior administrative assistant in the registrar's office, received a Classified Award of $100 for the 2007 summer term.

Students awarded scholarships for the fall 2007 semester are Deborah Allen, campus custodial, $66; Joyce Dechant, nursing department, $100; Linda Garner, graduate school, $100; Diane Henderson, physics department, $45; Marnie Kohl, student affairs, $100; Terry Leiker, student fiscal services, $100; and Amie Wright, College of Education and Technology, $93.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |