FHSU Foundation announces endowed chair

Fort Hays State University has received a commitment that will lead to the creation of a new endowed position.

"We are here this morning to recognize the philanthropic spirit of two very special people," Tim Chapman, president and CEO of the FHSU Foundation, announced during a news conference today at the university's new Robbins Center. "Brooks and Gail Kellogg of Steamboat Springs, Colo., have made a commitment of $250,000 to establish a chaired position at FHSU in recognition, honor and support of the eighth president of the school, Dr. Edward H. Hammond."

Chapman said the gift was yet another example of the couple's unending dedication to FHSU. Brooks Kellogg, a 1965 graduate, received his degree in communication.

"The Kelloggs are true entrepreneurs in every sense of the word with involvement in various business ventures worldwide," Chapman said. That entrepreneurial spirit has extended into Hays over the past several years, with participation in creation of the Stadium Place student condominiums at FHSU and conversion of an historic downtown Hays movie theater into the Fox Pavilion.

"The Kelloggs have been deeply involved in the FHSU Foundation and Alumni Association," Chapman said. "Brooks has served on the boards for both organizations and continues to serve on the Board of Trustees for the Foundation. This type of commitment is a true testament to the dedication and passion the Kelloggs have for Fort Hays State University.

"Brooks and Gail could not be with us today," Chapman said, "but asked me to share these comments: 'We would like to recognize Ed for his leadership, guidance unending spirit for higher education, his 20-plus years of service to FHSU, and for being a life-long friend, and we will make this gift in honor of his dedication to the university and name the position the Dr. Edward H. Hammond Chair.' "

Chapman said Brooks went on to say: " 'Gail and I would like to extend a challenge to the many others Ed has touched both on an educational and personal level to support this chair.' " Chapman said the Foundation would like to bring the fund up to a level of $2.5 million in recognition of President Hammond.

President Hammond expressed his appreciation to Brooks and Gail Kellogg for their generosity to the university. "I thank them for their continued support," the president said. "It's an honor that such prominent alumni would want to recognize me and my 20 years of service in such a meaningful way."

There are two other endowed positions, both professorships, supporting faculty at the university.

The first was the Anschutz Endowed Professorship in Education, announced in June 2002. Philip Frederick Anschutz and Sue Anschutz-Rodgers, of Colorado, and the Anschutz Family Foundation donated $300,000 in memory of their mother, an FHSU alumna, to create the position in the College of Education and Technology. In May 2003, the president announced that Dr. Paul Adams, an FHSU professor of physics, had been selected after a national search to fill the Anschutz Endowed Professorship in Education.

The second position established at FHSU was the Voss Distinguished Professor of Leadership Studies, which was announced in May 2004. Omer Voss attended high school in Phillipsburg and came to FHSU, where he majored in political science, graduating in 1937. He joined International Harvester in 1936 and retired as vice chairman of the company in 1979. Voss and his family donated $300,000 to create the distinguished professorship. Dr. Curt Brungardt, who was chair of the Leadership Studies Department at the time, is now Voss Distinguished Professor of Leadership Studies and executive director of FHSU's Center for Civic Leadership.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu