Advanced Technology Student Organization at FHSU partners with local businesses to donate computers

Emprise Bank, Nex-Tech, United Way of Ellis County and Fort Hays State University, through its Advanced Technology Student Organization (ATSO), have teamed up to create a Computer Pilot Donation Program that provides refurbished computers to local non-profit agencies.

The first stage of this pilot program was 11 refurbished computers being donated to Hays Head Start. The future recipients will be DREAM Inc., the Smoky Hill Foundation for Chemical Dependency and the Ellis County Chapter of the American Red Cross.

"Upon researching the technology needs of non-profit agencies in our community, we quickly realized that budgetary constraints often result in inadequate technologies," said Dr. Mark Bannister, chair, Department of the Information Networking and Telecommunications. "We recognized an opportunity to improve the efficiency of these agencies through the strengths we each bring to the table."

The organization's leaders, including Jason Zeller, Assaria junior, Kameron Davis, Wichita senior, and Dylan Bathurst, Abilene junior, worked to earn Microsoft Authorized Refurbisher status for ATSO in order to assist with the project.

"It is inspiring to see local students offer their assistance and expertise for the betterment of our community," said Jeff Wick, chief operating officer of Nex-Tech.

"Donating our still useful computers to United Way is a great way to help local agencies and the people they serve," said Wayne Woofter, president of Emprise Bank of Hays. "Our goal is to donate 12 quality computers that can be refurbished by ATSO and distributed through the United Way each year."

Computer donations are not being accepted from the public for use in this pilot program, and the recipient list is currently restricted to non-profit social service agencies. Individuals and for-profit businesses do not qualify for this program.

For more information about the Computer Donation Pilot Program, contact Sue Rouse (785) 628-8281.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |