Burnett, Caplan, Farley receive spring Faculty Recognition Awards

Three Fort Hays State University professors have been recognized for excellence in the spring 2007 faculty awards program.

Dr. Jeff Burnett, assistant professor of health and human performance and director of the University Wellness Center, Dr. Harriet Caplan, instructor of management and marketing, and Dr. Greg Farley, associate professor of biological sciences, were recognized by a faculty committee for their contributions to the university and to the student body.

Burnett was presented with the Faculty Performance Recognition Award for University Service.

"Dr. Burnett has established a high standard for service to the department, the university and his profession," said Dr. Jeff Briggs, dean of the College of Health and Life Sciences, in a letter of recommendation for the award. "He is actively involved in activities that promote his profession and the health and wellness of the university and the community."

Caplan received the Outstanding Teaching Award.

"Dr. Caplan truly exemplifies the type of faculty that any chair would wish to have teaching in their department," said Dr. Micol Maughan, chair of the Department of Management and Marketing. "She finds a balance between a personal concern for each and every student and the demand for rigor in her courses."

Farley was named the recipient of the Faculty Research Award.

Dr. Rob Channell, associate professor of biological sciences, said this in a letter of recommendation for Farley: "When I first arrived at Fort Hays State University as an assistant professor, Greg stressed to me that my research program would be judged on its productivity, my ability to secure funds to support it, and my willingness to use my research and resources to expand the educational opportunities of students. Based on these criteria, he has developed a research program that exemplified the research that is possible here."

The faculty recognition program rewards outstanding instructors nominated by each of the four colleges of the university. Recipients are selected by a committee chaired or appointed by the respective college deans.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu