High school students win free iPods from Fort Hays State University

Several high school students recently became owners of brand new iPods -- and with no cost to mom and dad.

As part of its "30 in 30" initiative -- 30 iPod giveaways in 30 days -- FHSU's Office of Admissions gave away one free iPod to a random high school student every day during the month of November in order to increase awareness among northeast Kansas students.

Students simply logged on to 30in30.net and registered to win a free iPod. Winners were chosen at random. The temporary Web site gave prospective students a chance to get familiar with what FHSU has to offer. Students were exposed to academic, athletic, technological and extra-curricular opportunities available at FHSU and in the Hays community.

Winners -- except for three who have not claimed their prizes -- are listed by school district, high school and hometown.

Archdiocese of Kansas City
Bishop Ward: Thomas Richmond, Kansas City, Kan.
St. James Academy: Ryan McNally, Shawnee.
St. Thomas Aquinas: Alyson Smith, Olathe.

Blue Valley USD 299
Blue Valley: Nathan Hess, Overland Park.
Blue Valley North: Jeremy Borowick, Overland Park.

Home schooled:
Sarah Herbert, Merriam.

Kansas City USD 500
J.C. Harmon: Ryan Baker, Kansas City, Kan.
Sumner Academy of Arts and Sciences: John Abney Jr., Kansas City, Kan.; Aleena Dale, Kansas City, Kan.; Anthony Saxon, Kansas City, Kan.
Washington High: Brent Hickman, Kansas City, Kan.

-- more --
Page 2/iPods

Blue Springs South: Alex J. Martin, Lee's Summit, Mo.
Lee's Summit Senior High, Lee's Summit, Mo.: David Kojeski, Lee's Summit, Mo.
North Kansas City High, Kansas City, Mo.: Shannon Graham, Kansas City, Mo.
Park Hill South, Park Hill, Mo.: Coby Adam Dunn, Parkville, Mo.

Olathe USD 233
Olathe East: Jared Bright, Olathe; Elliott Bussell, Overland Park; Scott Culala, Olathe.
Olathe North: Keith Hughes, Olathe.

Piper USD 203
Piper: Aaron Berlin, Kansas City.

Shawnee Mission USD 512
Shawnee Mission East: Alexander Rathbun, Westwood; Amy Coffman, Leawood.
Shawnee Mission North: Melanie Arroyo, Overland Park.
Shawnee Mission Northwest: Roberto Hurtado, Shawnee; Erica Moore, Lenexa; Archit Patel, Olathe; Evan Thomas, Shawnee.

For more information, contact Tricia Klein, director of admissions, at (785) 628-4091 or tcline@fhsu.edu. You may also call the admissions office at 1-800-628-FHSU or visit www.fhsu.edu/admissions.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu