High school students can win free computers, $400 scholarships at annual FHSU programs

Thousands of dollars in scholarships and laptop computers will be given away during Fort Hays State University's annual Student Recognition Program traveling scholarship series beginning Sunday, Jan. 14, in Hays.

SRPs are held in communities statewide and in southern Nebraska and Denver to accommodate area students and their parents and guardians. The receptions are sponsored by the FHSU Alumni Association and Commerce Bank of Hays.

Receptions include a dessert buffet provided by the FHSU Alumni Association and a multimedia presentation by university President Edward H. Hammond. High school seniors and transfer students who are in attendance will also have the chance to win a tablet PC from the FHSU Office of Admissions or a $400 scholarship from Commerce Bank of Hays. A tablet PC is a computer shaped in the form of a notebook. A user can use a stylus and touch screen to operate the computer instead of a keyboard or mouse.

Several FHSU faculty members and administrators attend the SRPs, which gives students and parents opportunities to ask questions in person to university representatives.

The SRP series begins in Hays at 7 p.m. Sunday, Jan 14, at FHSU's Memorial Union. Students from Ellis, Ness and Trego counties as well as students from La Crosse and Quinter are invited to attend the Hays SRP.

SRPs for Garden City and Dodge City are planned for Sunday, Jan. 21. Garden City's reception begins at 2:30 p.m. at the Plaza Hotel, 1911 E. Kansas Ave. Dodge City's reception begins at 7 p.m. at the Dodge House and Convention Center, 2408 Wyatt Earp. Both registration deadlines are on Jan. 17. Garden City will host students from Finney, Grant, Greeley, Hamilton, Haskell, Kearny, Lane, Morton, Scott, Seward, Stanton, Stevens and Wichita counties in Kansas, and Colorado students from Baca, Bent, Kiowa and Prowers counties. Dodge City will host students from Clark, Comanche, Edwards, Ford, Gray, Hodgeman, Kiowa and Meade counties.

The SRP in Logan will be at 7 p.m. on Thursday, Jan. 25, at the Dane G. Hansen Museum, 110 W. Main St. The registration deadline is Jan. 22. Students from Decatur, Graham, Norton, Phillips and Sheridan counties as well as students from Grinnell, Natoma, Palco, Plainville, Stockton and Wheatland will attend the Logan SRP.

SRPs are planned for Wichita and Salina on Sunday, Jan 28. Wichita's reception will begin at 1:30 p.m. at the Marriott Hotel, 9100 Corporate Hills Drive. The Salina SRP
-- more --
Page 2/SRPs

begins at 7 p.m. at the Salina Country Club, 2101 E. Country Club. Both registration deadlines are on Jan 24.

Students from Barber, Butler, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Cowley, Crawford, Elk, Greenwood, Harper, Harvey, Kingman, Labette, Montgomery, Neosho, Reno, Sedgwick, Sumner, Wilson and Woodson counties are invited to the Wichita SRP. Students from Chase, Dickinson, Geary, Marion, McPherson, Morris, Ottawa and Saline counties are invited to attend Salina's SRP.

The Goodland SRP is scheduled for 7 p.m. Mountain time on Monday, Jan. 29, at the Northwest Kansas Technical College Memorial Union, 1008 W. 15th St. Registration deadline is Jan. 25. Goodland will play host to students from Cheyenne, Logan, Rawlins, Sherman, Thomas and Wallace counties as well as Nebraska students from Chase, Dundy, Hayes, Hitchcock, Keith and Perkins counties, and Colorado students from Cheyenne, Kit Carson and Yuma counties.

The Holdrege, Neb., SRP will be at 7 p.m. Monday, Feb. 5, at the Holdrege Country Club, 314 W. 18th Ave. Deadline to register is Feb. 1. Students from Adams, Buffalo, Dawson, Franklin, Frontier, Furnas, Gosper, Hall, Harlan, Kearney, Lincoln, Phelps, Red Willow and Webster counties are invited to this SRP.

The Kansas City and Topeka SRPs are scheduled for Sunday, Feb. 18. The Kansas City reception is at 1:30 p.m. at the Overland Park Marriott, 10800 Metcalf Ave. Topeka's SRP begins at 7 p.m. at the Capitol Plaza Hotel, 1717 SW Topeka Blvd. Both registration deadlines are on Feb. 14.

Students from Allen, Anderson, Atchison, Bourbon, Doniphan, Douglas, Franklin, Johnson, Leavenworth, Linn and Miami counties are invited to Kansas City's SRP. Students from Brown, Coffey, Jackson, Jefferson, Lyon, Marshall, Nemaha, Osage, Pottawatomie, Riley, Shawnee and Wabaunsee counties are invited to Topeka's SRP.

The Great Bend SRP begins at 7 p.m. Monday, Feb. 19, at the Highland Hotel, 3017 W. 10th St. Deadline to register is Feb. 15. Students from Barton, Ellsworth, Pawnee, Pratt, Rice, Russell and Stafford counties, and students from Otis-Bison, are invited.

The Denver SRP is scheduled for 1:30 p.m. on Sunday, Feb. 25, at the Denver Airport Marriott at Gateway Park, 16455 E 40th Circle in Aurora. Registration deadline is Feb. 21. Students from all Colorado counties -- aside from those attending the Goodland and Garden City SRPs -- are invited to the Denver SRP.

The final SRP is scheduled for Beloit at 7 p.m. Monday, March 5, at Beloit High School, 1711 Walnut. The deadline to register is March 1. Kansas students from Clay, Cloud, Jewell, Lincoln, Mitchell, Republic, Smith and Washington counties, and students from Lakeside and Osborne will attend. Nebraska students from Clay, Jefferson, Nuckolls and Thayer counties are also invited to the Beloit SRP.

Students will receive certificates for a variety scholarships that have been awarded to them by FHSU. Scholarships include the Miller Black and Gold Award, the Hays City Silver Award, the Fort Hays Bronze Academic Award and the Copper Award.

The Miller Black and Gold Award is a renewable, $1,200-a-year scholarship. Incoming freshmen who score 28 or above on the ACT exam automatically receive this scholarship.

The Hays City Silver Academic Award is a renewable, $800-a-year scholarship given to incoming freshmen who score 24 to 27 on the ACT.

The Fort Hays Bronze Academic Award is a one-time, $700 scholarship given to incoming freshmen who score 22 or 23 on the ACT exam, and the Copper Award is a one-time $500 scholarship for incoming freshmen who score a 21 on the ACT.

Many of the students also receive departmental Award of Excellence scholarships. These are one-time, $500 awards based upon a student's academic major.

For more information, call the FHSU Office of Admissions at (800) 628-FHSU. For information on contacting alumni sponsors of SRP receptions, contact the FHSU Alumni Association at (785) 628-4430.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu