Morgan, Taggart, Toulaboe honored with fall 2006 faculty awards

Three Fort Hays State University professors have been recognized for excellence at the university's annual awards ceremony and holiday party today in the Memorial Union's Fort Hays Ballroom.

Dr. Mary Morgan, professor of biological sciences and nursing, Dr. Germaine Taggart, associate professor of teacher education and interim chair of the Department of Teacher Education, and Dr. Dosse Toulaboe (pronounced DOEsay TOO-la-boh), associate professor of economics and finance, were recognized by a faculty committee for their contributions to the university and to the student body.

The faculty recognition program rewards outstanding instructors nominated by each of the four colleges of the university. Recipients are selected by a committee chaired or appointed by the respective college deans.

Morgan received the Faculty Teaching Award for the College of Health and Life Sciences. The award cited her for outstanding teaching and continuous improvement for her courses delivered on campus and through the Virtual College. She was praised for improving the format of classes and examination methods to improve student learning and for her extensive experience and knowledge base.

"Mary is recognized for her stellar leadership as a teacher within the Department of Biological Sciences by both students and faculty," said Dr. Elmer J. Finck, chair of the Department of Biological Sciences. "She has inspired other faculty to reevaluate their teaching based on their teaching evaluations and comments from the students."

Taggart received the Faculty Service Award for her performance in the College of Education and Technology. The citation noted her extensive service to her discipline and to the community. Taggart has been actively involved in the work of the Kansas Association of Teachers of Science, the Kansas State Department of Education and, in the community, Heart Walk, 4H and Community Assistance. She has also served on numerous university and college committees.

"Dr. Taggart received the Pilot Award in 2004 and has been recognized in 10 of her 13 years at Fort Hays State University by Mortar Board students as a Top Professor," said Dr. Debbie Mercer, dean of the College of Education and Technology.

Toulaboe received the Faculty Research Award for his performance in the College of Business and Leadership. The committee noted that he has consistently published in the top-ranked journals in his field and is an expert in currency valuation and exchange rates and is active in grant-supported research. The committee also took note of his excellent research skills in theory and statistical analysis.

"Dosse excels in the area of research," said Dr. Steve Williams, dean of the College of Business and Leadership. "In my opinion, he is one of the strongest researchers within the College of Business and Leadership and at Fort Hays State."

Morgan, Taggart and Toulaboe each received a check for $500, a note cube and a university lapel pin that signifies teaching excellence. The university provides two-thirds of the financial award and the other third comes from Commerce Bank of Hays, which established a fund with the university to help recognize outstanding faculty teaching.
Three more faculty will be honored at the Spring 2007 Faculty Awards Ceremony.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |