Students produce, featured in 2006 edition of FHSU literary arts journal

Poetry, stories and art works by 15 area Fort Hays State University students are featured in the 2006 edition of "Lines in the Middle of Nowhere," the university's student literary journal. Eleven other students served on the editorial board.

The journal, in its 17th year, accepts submissions from alumni, faculty and staff as well as students.

"This year's edition of 'Lines' is special because, for the first time in a while, we are featuring student artwork on the cover," said editor Amy Morris, a 2006 FHSU graduate. "It is extremely important to have the 'Lines' journal at FHSU because not only does it give students, staff and alumni the opportunity to have their creative works recognized, but it's also a great example of our school's dedication to the arts."

" 'Lines' is an important part of the thriving artistic community we enjoy in Hays," said Dr. Amy Cummins, assistant professor of English and faculty advisor to "Lines."

The 2005 "Lines" won a National Literary Journal Award from Sigma Tau Delta, the international English honor society.

"In 2006, 'Lines' includes undergraduate and graduate students, with majors including art, business, English, geosciences, information networking and telecommunications and Spanish, from within and beyond Kansas," said Morris.

The journal is available at the Moss-Thorns Art Gallery in Rarick Hall or in the Department of English. Contact Cummins by phone, (785) 628-4243 or by e-mail to

Submissions for the 2007 edition of "Lines" are due by Feb. 15, 2007. Applications to serve on the 2007 editorial board are due by Nov. 15, 2006. Queries can be directed to Melissa Mikesell at

Students whose work is published in "Lines" 2006 and those who served on the editorial board are listed by hometown and classification.

Students published in "Lines":

Boulder, Colo.: Kathey Johnson.
Chapman: Lynn Berland.
Ellis: Adrienne Heroneme, Calvin King.
Flower Mound, Texas: Phandeluys Truong.
Hays: John Whitmer.
Kansas City, Kan.: Dominique Weismiller.
McPherson: Sharon Rott.
Ness City: Christopher Frick.
Norton: Brandi Withington.
Rose Hill: Alyssa Rogers.
Seoul, South Korea: Bang-Wool Han.
Smolan: Crystal Hammerschmidt.
Sylvan Grove: Jennifer Mettlen Nolan.
Wichita: John Stadler.

Students on the editorial board:
Aurora, Colo.: Kate Clifton.
Hays: Katie Edwards.
Lenexa: Amy (Poduska) Walker.
Osborne: Autumn Thomas.
Larned: Sam Robert Byer.
Ogallah: Susan (Oborney) Deges.
Phillipsburg: Heather Fall.
Otis: Theresa Kraisinger.
Dodge City: Kevin Malone.
Ellinwood: Christopher Rome.
Elkhart: Samantha Scott.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |