Anderson VIP Student Ambassadors named

Fort Hays State University recently announced the names of the students who will serve as Anderson VIP Student Ambassadors for the 2005-2006 academic year.

Each year 24 students are selected to assist President Edward H. Hammond as hosts and hostesses for special guests at university events such as presidential dinners, receptions, dedications and visits from the Board of Regents and legislators.

"The function of the Ambassadors is to serve as official representatives of the university and student body," said Lisa Karlin, assistant to the president and the program's sponsor. "It's an opportunity to be involved with the university on another level."

This year's ambassadors were chosen from a "very, very strong, highly qualified applicant pool" of more than 60 students, said Karlin. They exhibit strong leadership and communication skills, have outgoing personalities, are good conversationalists and possess knowledge about FHSU, she said.

The program in its current format began not long after Hammond came to FHSU and is named in memory of Andy Anderson, an FHSU alumni.

The 2005-2006 Ambassadors are listed below by hometown.

Abilene: Jessica Smart, senior.

Cimarron: Katie Stucky, sophomore.

Elkhart: Brandon Elder, senior.

Hanston: Doug Cure, junior.

Hays: Sarah Brown, junior; Tomi Dechant, sophomore; Cara Gilreath, junior; Linda O'Neal, senior; Nate Rohleder, sophomore; Sara Wasinger, sophomore; and Heather Weilert, senior.

Hill City: Blaine Jackson, senior.

Larned: Bryan VonFeldt, senior.

Lenora: Diane Becker, senior.

Leoti: Laci Dearden, senior.

Medicine Lodge: Tara Strong, junior.

Osborne: Devin Weis, senior.

Spearville: Celina Konrade, sophomore.

St. Francis: Gina Frohlich, senior.

Sublette: Brett Whitaker, junior.

Tipton: Tavish Marshall, senior.

WaKeeney: Jill Smith, junior.

Wilson: Randi Haun, junior.

Falcon, CO: Nichole Keough, sophomore.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |