Alumni Association announces officers, new board members

Fort Hays State University’s Alumni Association Board of Directors recently announced members of the 2006-2007 Executive Council and the addition of three new members, a faculty appointment and one returning member to its Board of Directors.

These members were introduced June 10 at the FHSU Alumni Association Board of Directors summer meeting in Hays.

On the Executive Council, Bonnie Lowe, Lawrence, a 1983 FHSU graduate, was selected as president of the FHSU Alumni Association Board of Directors and also serves as a member of the Alumni and Endowment Joint Building Committee and as an ex-officio member of the FHSU Endowment Board of Trustees.

Other Executive Council members are Brian DeWitt, a 1989 graduate, Hays, chair of the Finance and Operations Committee, Stacy Kohlmeier, 1984, Manhattan, chair of the Membership and Marketing Committee, and Dennis Gaschler, 1973, Protem, MO, past FHSU Alumni Board of Directors president and chair of the Awards and Recognition Committee.

Dr. Patricia "Patty" Baconrind, Hays, was selected to serve a second four-year term on the Board of Directors. A Sidney, NE, native, Baconrind earned a master of science in communication in 1993 from FHSU. She went on to earn her Ph.D. in community and human resources in 1996 from the University of Nebraska, Lincoln. Baconrind is the owner of Baconrind Appraising Services, Hays, president of Kansas Proprietary School, Hays, and a real estate salesperson and associate broker with Bel Air Realty, Hays. She is a Kansas Certified General real property appraiser, non-resident Nebraska Certified General Appraiser and Kansas Real Estate Broker.

Daron Jamison, Hays, was selected to serve a four-year term on the board. He graduated from FHSU in 2003 with a bachelor of business administration and a bachelor of science in organizational leadership. Jamison is employed as the director of operations for The Meckenstock Group, Hays. He serves on the boards of directors for the Ellis County United Way, Ellis County Big Brothers/Big Sisters and the Center for Civic Leadership. Jamison is also a member of the Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association.

Kevin Moeder was selected to serve a four-year term. A La Crosse native, Moeder graduated from FHSU in 1982 with his bachelor of science in agriculture. He graduated from the Graduate School of Banking at Colorado, Boulder, in 1994. He is the vice-president of Farmers Bank and Trust in La Crosse. He is a member of the Knights of Columbus and is treasurer of the Rush County Salvation Army and the La Crosse High School Alumni Committee. Moeder is past president and chairman of the board of the La Crosse Chamber of Commerce and is chairman of the Kansas Barbed Wire Collectors Association annual show. He also serves as the chairman for the La Crosse USD 395 Facilities Study Committee and coaches summer youth baseball.

Dennis Spratt, Lawrence, was selected for a four-year term. Spratt graduated from FHSU in 1978 with a bachelor of science in education. He graduated from American College in Bryn Mawr, PA, with degrees as a chartered life underwriter and a chartered financial consultant in 1982 and 1988, respectively. Spratt is president and founder of Dennis Spratt Inc., a financial life planning and investment advisory business. He is past president of the Lawrence Track Club and a master level track official. Spratt is a member of the Christian Financial Professionals Network and the International Association of Registered Financial Consultants.

Andy Stanton, Hays, was selected to serve as a faculty appointment to the board for a three-year term. Stanton received his bachelor of arts in communication with an emphasis in public relations in 1993 and his masters of science in communication in 1997, from FHSU. Stanton is an assistant professor of communication studies at FHSU. He is also co-owner of D&A Communications, an online communications consulting business. Stanton is a member of the Kansas and National School Public Relations Associations.

The Fort Hays State University Alumni Association, established in 1916, is dedicated to identifying and serving the needs of more than 38,000 graduates living throughout the United States and 61 foreign countries.

The Board of Directors is a 20-member governing board that sets the policy and direction of the association in developing life-long relationships between the university and its alumni and friends. For more information, visit, e-mail or call (785) 628-4430 or toll-free 1-888-351-3591.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |