State Board of Education recognizes FHSU grad students for work in ESOL

A group of Fort Hays State University graduate students were acknowledged in a new document, "Kansas Curricular Standards for English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL)," approved by the Kansas State Board of Education in its April 2004 monthly meeting.

Students from two classes, "ESOL Assessment and Appraisal" and "ESOL Methods & Materials," both taught by Robert Bruce Scott, assistant professor of special education, developed "instructional examples" for many of the indicators aligned with 12 different benchmarks for the four ESOL standards in listening, speaking, reading and writing.

Elaine Fox, an instructor in the southwest ESOL program of the Department of Special Education at FHSU, is also acknowledged in the document for her work as a member of the ESOL Standards Committee.

The curricular standards for ESOL offer crucial guidance for classroom teachers in Kansas who must design lessons in alignment with highlighted indicators to help growing numbers of culturally and linguistically diverse children learn English and achieve academic success in the state's public schools.

The Department of Special Education at Fort Hays State University provides ESOL teacher education via interactive television (ITV) and face-to-face at sites in central and western Kansas and, starting with the summer session, 2004, online to meet the increasing demand for these courses.

The students acknowledged in the State Board of Education document are listed by hometown and classification.

Cimarron: Shirley Voran.
Dodge City: Caroline Harms.
Garden City: Vilma Orrantia.
Goodland: Dee Burkett, Pam Hernandez, and Stephanie McGinley.
Hays: San Gamboa.
Liberal: Amber Doeschot.
Russell: Susan Krug.
WaKeeney: Gina Halksworth.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |