FHSU Alumni Association announces officers, new board members

Fort Hays State University?s Alumni Association Board of Directors recently announced the 2004-2005 Executive Committee and the addition of two new board members and one returning board member.

The Executive Committee consists of the board chair, the past president and the three committee chairs. New members were introduced June 5 at the summer meeting.

Dennis Gaschler, Hutchinson, was selected chair of the Board of Directors and also serves as a member of the Alumni and Endowment Joint Building Committee and as ex-officio member of the FHSU Endowment Board of Trustees. Other Executive Committee members include Alan Deines, Woodbine, past FHSU Alumni Board of Directors president and chair of the Finance and Operations Committee, Bonnie (Neuberger) Lowe, Lawrence, chair of the Membership and Marketing Committee, and Kim Stewart, Hays, chair of the Awards and Recognition Committee.

Stan Griffin, Overland Park, has been selected to serve a four-year term on the board. A Bunker Hill native, Griffin earned a bachelor of science in mathematics from FHSU in 1960 and a master's in mathematics from Pittsburg State University in 1966. Having completed seven years in teacher education and a 34-year career in the data processing/banking industry, Griffin is now employed part-time at Aristocrat Motors Inc. in Merriam. He holds active membership in the FHSU Alumni Association and the Indian Heights United Methodist Church, where he also serves as chair of the Board of Trustees. Griffin and his wife, Neva, have two children, Mark and Randy.

Stacy (Coats) Kohlmeier, Manhattan, was selected to serve a four-year term on the board. A Kinsley native, Kohlmeier graduated from FHSU with a bachelor of science in business administration in 1984. She is employed as a marketing services manager for Auth-Florence in Manhattan. Kohlmeier is an active member of the Homecare & Hospice Foundation Fundraising/Event Committee, Manhattan Catholic Schools Endowment Committee, Riley County United Way Board, and Seven Dolors Catholic Church, where she also serves as a lector. She holds membership in the FHSU Alumni Association, KSU Alumni Association, Friends of McCain, Manhattan Arts Center and Friends of Konza, and recently was appointed to the Manhattan Area Technical College Board of Directors. Kohlmeier and her husband, Lowell, have two children, Drew and Grant.

Elinor (Brining) Haneke, Great Bend, has been selected to serve a second four-year term. A Great Bend native, Haneke received a bachelor of arts in English in 1946 and a master of science in English in 1947. She retired from a 42-year career in education in the Hutchinson and Great Bend school districts. Haneke holds memberships in the Fort Hays State University Alumni Association and is the current president of the Fort Hays State University Half-Century Club. She is past president and current member of the Central Kansas Alumni Club in Great Bend. She is also a board member of the Golden Belt Community Concert Association and Great Bend Community Theatre and holds membership in the First United Methodist Church and Red Hats Society. She serves as a member of the FHSU Endowment Association Scholarship Committee. Haneke and her husband, Ralph, have two children, Craig and the late Beth (Haneke) McKinney.

The Fort Hays State University Alumni Association, established in 1916, is dedicated to identifying and serving the needs of more than 37,000 graduates living throughout the United States and 61 foreign countries.

The Board of Directors is an 18-member governing board that sets the policy and direction of the association in developing life-long relationships between the university and its alumni and friends. The Executive Council responsibility is to direct the overall programs, services and financial resources of the Association.

For further information, visit www.fhsu.edu/alumni or e-mail alumni@fhsu.edu or call (785) 628-4430 or toll-free 1-888-351-3591.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu