Wiese, Rumpel and Weiden honored with fall 2004 faculty awards

Three Fort Hays State University instructors have been recognized for excellence in the fall 2004 Faculty Awards program.

Dr. Tom Wiese, associate professor of chemistry, Joan Rumpel, assistant professor of accounting and information systems, and Dr. David Weiden, assistant director of The Docking Institute of Public Affairs, were recognized by a faculty committee for their contributions to the university classroom and the student body.

The faculty recognition program rewards outstanding instructors nominated by each of the four colleges of the university. Recipients are selected by a committee chaired or appointed by the respective college deans.

Wiese received the Outstanding Research Award for his performance in the College of Arts and Sciences. The awards committee commended Wiese for involving dozens of undergraduate students in his work and for his interdisciplinary research in biology and his grant activity.

" Since his arrival at FHSU in 1996, Dr. Wiese has steadily maintained what is clearly the most active laboratory research among the Chemistry faculty," said Dr. James Hohman, chair of the Department of Chemistry. "Without in any way diluting his teaching efforts or reducing academic standards in his classes, he has continued a high level of research effort and involved dozens of undergraduate students in this work. The results have been award-winning student presentations of research results and publications in referreed journals. Less tangible results have been the energy and the enthusiasm for research that he has inspired in the students who have worked with him, several of whom are working on or have completed post-graduate degrees."

Rumpel received the Outstanding Service Award for her performance in the College of Business and Leadership. She was commended for her strong contributions to the Accounting and Information Systems Department, Faculty Senate, Athletic Association Board, search committees and the Leadership Cabinet of KSCPA.

" When Mrs. Rumpel serves on any type of committee, she takes the appointment seriously. She is always willing to devote the extra time necessary to make certain she completes any assigned task and she works diligently until the task is completed," according to the report from the nominations committee. "When asked to help with any project, ? she is willing to take the lead on projects when other faculty members are not."

Weiden received the Outstanding Teaching Award for his performance in the College of Arts and Sciences. The awards committee commended Weiden for being an "innovator in the classroom." connecting well with students,

" Dave Weiden is the embodiment of two core philosophies at Fort Hays State: student focus and continual improvement. In just over one year here, students have enthusiastically received his style and content. In both fall and spring semesters of the 2003-2004 academic year, Dave scored the highest among all political science faculty members in overall student teaching evaluation scores," said Dr. Chap Rackaway, assistant professor of political science.

The faculty recognition program, which began as a way to recognize outstanding faculty for the use of mediation and innovation in the classroom, was restructured for the fall 2003 semester by a task force appointed by Dr. Larry Gould, provost.

" The former system was destined to evolve into something else. There was much dissatisfaction from the colleges as to how the award nominations and monthly process were handled," said Dr. Chris Crawford, assistant provost for quality management. "John Ross, director of Forsyth Library, and the Council of the Deans developed this more meaningful and substantial system. It reflects faculty workload and is used more extensively to present only a select number of faculty with an award."

Wiese, Rumpel and Weiden each received a check for $500, a note cube, and a university lapel pin that signifies teaching excellence. Two-thirds of the financial award is provided by the university and the other third comes from Commerce Bank of Hays, which established a fund with the university to help recognize outstanding faculty teaching.

Three more faculty will be honored in the spring .

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu