Slattery, Stehno, Hickman and Brungardt honored with spring 2004 faculty awards

Four Fort Hays State University instructors have been recognized for excellence in the spring 2004 Faculty Awards program.

Dr. Mike Slattery, professor of educational administration and counseling, Dr. Ed Stehno, professor of educational administration and counseling, Dr. Karen Hickman, associate professor of biological sciences, and Christie Brungardt, instructor of leadership studies, were recognized by a faculty committee for their contributions to the university classroom and the student body.

The faculty recognition program rewards outstanding instructors nominated by each of the four colleges of the university. Recipients are selected by a committee chaired or appointed by the respective college deans.

Slattery and Stehno each received the Outstanding Teaching Award for their performance in the College of Education and Technology. The awards committee noted the two were "expert team teachers of distance learners." Slattery and Stehno instruct the Camp Aldrich seminars as well as teach grad-level classes on ITV and play a key role in the Southwest Plains Regional Service.

Hickman was presented with the Outstanding Research Award for her performance in the College of Health and Life Sciences. She is considered to be a leader in her field not only the department but the region as well. Hickman has also written two key publications in the past two years. The committee praised Hickman for research on biodiversity in the region, securing external support for equipment and for including graduate and undergraduate students in her research.

Brungardt received the Outstanding Service Award for her extensive services in the College of Business and Leadership. Brungardt serves as the 2003-2004 president of United Way and is the coordinator of the American Democracy Project and Service Learning Committee. She is an advisor for Mortar Board, Tigers in Service and Omicron Delta Kappa Honor Society and is a board member of the FHSU Alumni Association.

The faculty recognition program, which began as a way to recognize outstanding faculty for the use of mediation and innovation in the classroom, was restructured for the fall 2003 semester by a task force appointed by Dr. Larry Gould, provost.

"The former system was destined to evolve into something else. There was much dissatisfaction from the colleges as to how the award nominations and monthly process were handled," said Dr. Chris Crawford, assistant provost for quality management. "John Ross, director of Forsyth Library, and the Council of the Deans developed this more meaningful and substantial system. It reflects faculty workload and is used more extensively to present only a select number of faculty with an award."

Slattery, Stehno, Hickman and Brungardt each received a check for $500, a note cube, and a university lapel pin that signifies teaching excellence. Two-thirds of the financial award is provided by the university and the other third comes from Commerce Bank of Hays, which established a fund with the university to help recognize outstanding faculty teaching.

Three more faculty will honored in the fall.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |