FHSU nurses recognized by Kansas State Nurses Association

Two nurses associated with Fort Hays State University have been recognized by the Kansas State Nurses Association at the 92nd Annual Kansas State Nurses Association Convention.

Gwen Philbrook (RN, BSN), Salina graduate student, received the Nurse Volunteer Award. It is given annually to recognize a registered nurse who contributes to social or civic organizations that benefit citizens or communities through volunteer services.

Philbrook graduated from the Asbury School of Nursing in 1972 and received her bachelor of art in nursing from Kansas Wesleyan University in 1995. Currently she works as the office nurse coordinator for Salina cardiologist Dr. William Freund.

Jeannette Peroli (BSN, MSN), Salina, a BSN preceptor at FHSU overseeing nursing interns in clinical situations, received the Honorary Recognition Award at the same convention. The award is the KSNA's most prestigious award and is given annually to a registered nurse who has rendered distinguished service to the nursing profession in Kansas at the district, state, or national level. She shares the award with Dr. Betty Smith-Campbell, Andover.

Peroli is a 1971 graduate of the Dominican School of Nursing in Great Bend. In 1978, she obtained her certificate as a nurse practitioner from Wichita State University. Later she obtained her bachelor of science in nursing from Marymount College, Salina, and in 1986 received her master's degree in nursing from the University of Kansas School of Nursing. She is currently a nurse practitioner at the Salina-Saline County Health Department.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu