FHSU announces Torch Award nominees

The Fort Hays State University Alumni Association has announced the names of the nominees for the 2000 Torch Award.

The award is given annually to an outstanding FHSU senior on the basis of leadership, high personal standards of conduct, commitment and outstanding academic achievement.

The students will be honored at the Graduate Faculty Brunch at 11:30 a.m. on May 12. The brunch is sponsored by the Alumni Association. The winner will be announced at the FHSU commencement ceremony on May 13.

The nominees and their majors are listed below by hometown.

CONCORDIA: Rachel Bell, communication with an emphasis in journalism.
COPELAND: Sandra Caro, elementary education.
COURTLAND: Ryan Anderson, finance with an emphasis in personal finance.
DeSOTO: Jamie Voorhies, elementary education.
ELLSWORTH: Molly Bircher, political science/economics.
GREAT BEND: Tammy Reif, elementary education.
HAYS: Elizabeth Bharania, information networking and telecommunications; Katie Bollig, psychology; Ruth Dysart, philosophy; Stacey Gould, information networking and telecommunications and business management; Megan Ryan, elementary education; Devin Strecker, information networking and telecommunications; and Christine Weber, elementary education.
HEALY: Sarah McArthur, elementary education.
HOISINGTON: Jamie Rupp, elementary education.
KANORADO: Kristen Lindsten, communications with an emphasis in public relations.
LEOTI: Lexi Ridder, English.
LIBERAL: Stephanie Swindler, industrial/organizational psychology.
NATOMA: Allison Meiers, art history.
RILEY: Stephanie Allen, English education.
RUSSELL: Monica Cook, elementary education.
SALINA: Mary Newell, sociology.
SMITH CENTER: Lea (Hess) Harding, elementary education.

WILCOX: Janene Hill, communication with an emphasis in public relations.
WOOD RIVER: Lena Sidders, psychology.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu