FHSU student publication students attend conference and receive numerous awards

Representing the two Fort Hays State University student publications, The University Leader and The Tiger's Tale -- a semester magazine that replaced the Reveille yearbook -- nine FHSU students attended the Kansas Associated Collegiate Press conference April 18-19 in Wichita.

Beginning Sunday evening, an awards banquet opened the conference as students received critiques on The Tiger's Tale and The Leader.

On Monday, the students attended several sessions regarding journalism and reporting. After lunch, more critiques and awards were presented.

For being a new publication with only one issue, The Tiger's Tale was very successful.

?For our first magazine we did really well,? said Sarah Schwantes, Lindsborg sophomore and Tiger's Tale editor-in-chief. ?Now we just have to aim higher for the next year.?

The Tiger's Tale staff received six awards in the following magazine divisions:

First place: Mario Rader, Wels, Austria, freshman, for feature photography.

Second place: Kelland Wolf, Sand Springs, OK, senior, for sports photography.

Third place: Sarah Wolf, Derby senior, and Kelland Wolf for photo essay; Kelland Wolf for infographics; Schwantes for headline writing; and Kathryn Mayes, Abilene junior, and Kenny Temaat, Andale sophomore, for mini-feature design.

The Leader received 16 awards, including a bronze award for overall newspaper.

?I thought we did an excellent job, considering we?re in competition with larger universities like K-State and WSU,? said Krista Lutgen, Osborne senior and Leader editor-in-chief.

Lutgen said it was difficult to select submissions since since entries could be made from February 2003 to February 2004.

?I was very impressed with the awards the staff received. It takes a lot of hard work from all staff members to produce a quality publication,? she said. ?We entered other staff members who didn?t place, but you have to realize that doesn?t mean they weren?t good enough. We are up against some tough competition.

"If there were a category for best staff, our staff would have won.?

The University Leader won the following awards in the four-year public university division:

Second place: Adam Gerik, Wichita junior, for news photography; Mark Keller, Meade senior, for headline writing; and Kelland Wolf for infographics.

Third place: Trent Rose, Oakley graduate student, and Lutgen for column writing; Logan Bonner, Scott City senior, for cartoons; and Rader for infographics.

Honorable mention: Jessica Blumer, Marysville freshman, for feature photography; Jami Porter, Lenexa senior, for feature photography; Mike Kessinger, Marysville senior, for sports column writing; The University Leader staff and Gerik for online news; Rader for cartoons; Bryan Valentine, Sterling graduate student, for sports feature writing; Kelland Wolf for illustrations and single ad design; and Gerik for sports photography.

"I feel it's a good conference for smaller publications such as community colleges and private schools in Kansas, but after going to the national ACP conference, it wasn't nearly as beneficial," Gerik, said. "Several of the sessions had information that we already knew or that didn't seem accurate."

"Many of us felt that we might be better off going to two national conferences next year," he said.

Micah Mertis, Colwich freshman, also attended.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu