Media studies students bring awards home from broadcasting event

Several INT Media Studies students were presented awards Monday, April 5, during the 2004 Kansas Association of Broadcasters Student Awards Luncheon at the Overland Park Marriott.

In the undergraduate television competition, Casey McAvoy, Offerle sophomore, and Kolissa McVay, Plains senior, took first place in Sports Report for "KFHS-TV Sports."

Brandon Cooley, Hays senior, Taryn Everhart, Dodge City junior, Addie Warner, Hutchinson, 3101 N. Walnut, junior, and McVay took second place for 30-Second Commercial with "Bicycle Safety."

Matt Bieker, Hays senior, Nathan Burgess, McPherson senior, Lindsay Matz, Lincolnville special student, Ryan Newton, Ellis special student, and Jenna Stout, Plainville special student, took second place in Documentary for "A Look Inside Media Studies."

Other students attending the annual KAB student seminar and career fair were Jason Adkins, Hutchinson, 637 E. Eighth, sophomore; Nolan Banks, Wichita, 117 S. Parkridge, sophomore; Jeff Bitikofer, Hesston senior; Robby DuBroc, Overland Park freshman; Bill Korb, Indianola, NE, senior; Ashley Maddern, El Dorado senior; Ross Montgomery, Beloit junior; and Amanda Randel, Hesston senior.

The students met one-on-one with broadcast media employees from eastern Kansas, including Kansas City and Topeka. In Topeka, they toured KSNT-TV, KTPK Radio, and the Kansas Highway Patrol Media Services.

Judges were from KSAS-TV, Dodge City; KMBC-TV, Kansas City; KWCH-TV, Hutchinson; KJTY-FM, Topeka, and KJIL-FM, Meade.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |