FHSU students initiated into Sigma Tau Delta

HAYS, KS -- The Rho Psi chapter of the International English Honor Society Sigma Tau Delta initiated 14 new members during its ceremony on May 4. The society recognizes the achievement of undergraduate, graduate and professional studies in English in an effort to help encourage creative and critical writing. Students must meet the minimum requirements of a 3.2 GPA in all English courses and a 3.0 GPA in all other courses with at least 45 hours of college credit.

Rho Psi sponsors officiating the ceremony were instructors of English Kristine Bair and Christiane Luehrs along with assistant professor of English Dr. Cheryl Hofstetter Duffy.

Officers for the 2000-01 academic year were chosen after the ceremony: president, Blythe Ruder, Hays junior; vice-president, Cassie Pfannenstiel, Hays junior; treasurer, Bethel Holland, Russell special student; secretary, Jo Maseberg, Macksville junior; anthology editor, Elliot McClelland, Ellis senior; historian, Lexi Ridder, Marienthal senior; publicity chair, Valerie Kindler, Hays senior.

The following new members are listed by hometown and classification:
Canton: Lana Vogts, sophomore.
Cimarron: Courtney Naccarato, graduate.
Colby: Kay Jones, junior.
Downs: Cecelia Reinert, graduate.
Garden City: Debra Bolton, graduate.
Hays: Valerie Kindler, senior; Amber Spicer, junior.
Macksville: Jo Maseberg, junior.
Mankato: Melissa Lawrence, junior.
Montezuma: Kimberly Tuxhorn, junior.
Morrowville: Christopher Graham, sophomore.
Oberlin: Maureen Corcoran, senior.
Russell: Bethel Holland, special student.
Sylvan Grove: Holly Mettlen, sophomore.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu