Moores establish scholarship at FHSU for grads of Wheatland, Grinnell, Maize high schools

Michael and Peggy Moore of Hays have established the Mike and Peggy Moore Scholarship Fund with the Fort Hays State University Endowment Association.

Both are graduates of FHSU, Michael in 1967 and Peggy in 1969.

Scholarship applicants must be graduates of Wheatland, Grinnell or Maize high schools with a minimum 3.0 grade point average. First preference is given to students majoring in mathematics and computer science, second preference to students majoring in computer information systems and third preference to students majoring in information, networking and telecommunications. A student's need for financial assistance shall be given consideration. The scholarship shall be renewable for up to four years as long as the student meets the scholarship criteria.

" We wanted to give back to Fort Hays State for the education we were provided," said Michael Moore. "The three schools provided us with a livelihood and we wanted to give back to them also."

The first recipient of the Moore scholarship is Brad Zimmerman, a graduate of Wheatland High School and the son of Darold and Beverly Zimmerman of Grainfield.

Zimmerman is a junior enrolled in the computer information systems program and is also working towards a certificate in leadership. He is active in Alpha Kappa Psi and intramural sports and was inducted into two national honor societies, Alpha Lamda Delta and the National Society of Collegiate Scholars.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |