FHSU's Kansas Youth Leadership Academy begins first statewide leadership seminar

Sept. 27 marked the date for the first annual high school academy seminar for the newly developed state-wide youth program, the Kansas Youth Leadership Academy.

The Academy was developed over the summer by FHSU's Center for Civic Leadership -- a division of the leadership studies program that targets non-traditional college students in leadership. KYLA, which launched in June, takes Certified Leadership Trainers from school to school throughout the state to assist 6-12-graders with leadership training.

During the first leadership training session on Sept. 27 in FHSU's Memorial Union, students were introduced to the Kansas Youth Leadership Academy program and studied the concepts of integrity, effective communication, leadership concepts, team dynamics and diversity appreciation and citizenship.

Different leadership training activities were used for each theme to provide hands-on education. Some of the activities included defining the definition of integrity, "Create your own language", which demonstrated communication barriers and ways to overcome them, and "Thinking Outside the Box", which gave participants the opportunity to understand the importance of having a diverse culture.

" In the afternoon, we split 9-10 grade and 11-12 and focused on the upperclassmen being role models for the underclassmen," said Kara Moore, Anthony graduate student and director and program specialist of KYLA. "For the underclassmen, we spoke with them about the importance of being followers and how it is just as important as being a leader."

Before the closing session, the Certified Leadership Trainers helped the high school students develop a leadership plan tailored for their school.

" I was really satisfied with the first seminar," Moore said. "I feel that the students got out a lot more than what they were expecting. When I spoke with them, they told me with enthusiasm that they really enjoyed it."

Upcoming seminars will be Oct. 14 at Butler County Community College in El Dorado and Nov. 11 at the Kaw Area Technical School in Topeka.

High school students who participated in the first seminar are listed below by school and classification.

ELKHART HIGH SCHOOL: Jolaine Fowler, senior; Victoria Tidwell, senior; and Kirk Walls,
sophomore. Sponsor: Robin Koonce.

GARDEN CITY HIGH SCHOOL: Jessica Messenger, junior; and Audrey Robinson, junior.

GREAT BEND HIGH SCHOOL: Caitlin Campbell, sophomore; Dakotah Drake, sophomore;
Katie Goerl, freshman; Lindsay Johnson, freshman; and Kirsten Zamarripa, freshman. Sponsor: Becky Stubbs.

HAYS HIGH SCHOOL: Zach Bizzell, freshman; Tyler Fross, freshman; Viviana Garibay,
junior; Claudia Guzman, freshman; Stephanie Onyeador, freshman; Ashley Taylor, freshman. Sponsor: Sherri Matlock.

NORHTERN VALLEY HIGH SCHOOL: Brynton Anderson, junior; Joey Copper, junior; Janelle Fritz, senior; Joe Hester, senior; Jesse Hilburn, senior; Jena Jessup, sophomore; Cole Kinderknecht, junior; Ashley Kingham, sophomore; Cody Lowry, junior; Thomas Ostmeyer, senior; Alysia Shearer, sophomore; Charissa Simoneau, sophomore; Kelsey Stupka, senior; Avery Thalheim, junior; Jessica Wenzl, sophomore; and Serena Woodside, junior. Sponsors: Lonnie Brungardt and Bill Lowry.

OTIS-BISON HIGH SCHOOL: Anna Brack, junior; Jessica Kaus, junior; Jessica Kraisinger, senior; Karie Lee, junior; Katie Lies, junior; Savannah Mattison, junior; Sarah Miller, junior; Heather Smith, senior; Jennifer Stelle, junior; Jaycie Wiechman, senior; and Diana Yarmer, junior. Sponsor: Eileen Wineland.

SALINA HIGH SCHOOL SOUTH: Justin Bastin, junior; Brett Halderman, sophomore; Charles Hernandez, senior; Gretchen Holthaus, sophomore; Sheila Kjellberg, senior; Reanna Putnam, sophomore; Eric Sader, senior; Ashli Saldibar, junior; Laura Sellers, senior; and Whitney Vaughn, sophomore. Sponsors: Jim Allen and Karen Bastin.

STAFFORD HIGH SCHOOL: Adrueonia Leech, sophomore; and Nicki-Kay Nichols, sophomore. Sponsor: Denise Dickson.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu