Local FHSU students assist at annual conference

Several students at Fort Hays State University assisted recently with the annual conference of the Kansas Association of Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages, which drew 300 participants from across the state of Kansas and from bordering states.

The conference was hosted by FHSU's Department of Special Education and its English for Speakers of Other Languages section and the Hays Language Institute.

Diana Desantiago, Deerfield senior and president of the Hispanic American Leadership Organization, Irina Tsetsura, Taganrog Rostovskaya, Russia, senior, and Jose Martinez, Hugoton senior, served as hosts for concurrent sessions.

Ron Miller, Great Bend special student, Kerry Hammeke, Ellis graduate student, Deidria Fetterolf, Hays graduate student, Jean Hertel, Victoria graduate student, and Sheila Boos, Hays graduate student, participated in poster sessions at the conference.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu