FHSU's annual Student Recognition Program continues in Kansas City and Topeka

Fort Hays State University will continue this year's edition of its traveling scholarship series -- the Student Recognition Program -- with programs in Kansas City and Topeka on Sunday, Feb. 15, and in Phillipsburg on Monday, Feb. 16.

The Kansas City SRP, at 1:30 p.m. in the Overland Park Marriott, 10800 Metcalf Ave., serves students from 12 eastern Kansas counties: Allen, Anderson, Atchison, Bourbon, Doniphan, Douglas, Franklin, Johnson, Leavenworth, Linn, Miami and Wyandotte. Denise Riedel, 1986 FHSU graduate, is the local alumni contact for the reception.

The Topeka SRP, at 7 p.m. in Topeka's Capitol Plaza, 1717 SW Topeka Blvd., serves students from 12 Kansas counties: Brown, Coffey, Jackson, Jefferson, Lyon, Marshall, Nemaha, Osage, Pottawatomie, Riley, Shawnee and Wabaunsee. Dean Larson, 1962 FHSU graduate, is the local alumni contact for the Topeka reception.

FHSU's annual SRPs have become hugely popular over the past 16 years, drawing more than 200 students and parents at some locations. FHSU President Edward H. Hammond gives guests a multimedia presentation about what new students can expect when they arrive on the campus. Students and their parents also have an opportunity to visit informally with Fort Hays State administrators and faculty over the rich dessert buffets that are a popular tradition at the programs.

The most important part of the evening is when the students receive certificates for a variety of scholarships they have been awarded. The Miller Black and Gold Award is a renewable, $1,200-a-year scholarship. Every incoming freshman who scores a 29 or better on the ACT exam automatically receives this scholarship.

The Hays City Silver Academic Award is a renewable, $800-a-year scholarship that is automatically given to incoming freshmen who score 24-28 on the ACT.

The Fort Hays Bronze Academic Award is a $400, one-time scholarship that is automatically given to all incoming freshmen who score 21-23 on the ACT exam. Many of the students also receive departmental Award of Excellence Scholarships. These are $500, one-time awards based upon a student's academic major.

The FHSU Alumni Association sponsors the SRP events with assistance businesses and individuals.

Commerce Bank of Hays will hold a drawing for four $400 scholarships at the Hays SRP and will also give away a $400 scholarship at each of the other SRPs.

For more information, call FHSU's Alumni Association toll free at 1-888-351-3591.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu