FHSU's student live manufacturing team again tops regional contest

For the fifth consecutive year, members of Fort Hays State University's Technology Education Collegiate Association (TECA) live manufacturing team earned first place honors and a spot at the national competition when they competed at the Regional Technology Education Competition Nov. 22-23 in Pittsburg, KS.

TECA's other teams won awards as well. The Technology Challenge team finished in fourth place and the Transportation and Problem Solving teams both finished in third place.

Live manufacturing is the most coveted competition of the event. Only the first-place team of each regional contest in the manufacturing division is eligible to compete at the National Technology Education Competition on March 20-21 in Albuquerque, NM. In other divisions, all teams that competed at regionals have the opportunity to compete at nationals.

The FHSU students who competed at the regional contest, listed below, are also eligible to compete at the national contest.

Assaria: Jeremy LeDuc, senior,
Ellsworth: Stu Moeckel, junior,
Hays: Jace Stewart, sophomore,
Johnson: Tim Rector, senior,
Lakin: Tommy Perez, senior,
Ludell: Nate Howard, senior,
Morganville: Layne Parry, senior,
Osborne: Chris Brubeck, senior.
Selden: Chris Broeckelman, junior,
Stockton: Chance McKinney, senior,
Ulysses: Nick Lane, freshman,
Wakeeney: Matt Dreher, sophomore.

This year's students are in good company; FHSU manufacturing teams won first place in the regional contest for 16 of the last 18 years and last year's team earned the title spot at the national competition.

Kim Stewart, associate professor of technology studies and co-sponsor of TECA, attributes success to the students. "I think what sets our program apart from so many other schools is the fact that our students engage themselves in so many areas of the technology field so they are well-versed and able to adapt to a variety of challenges."

McKinney, member of the Transportation and Problem Solving teams, is looking forward to nationals. "We are looking to place higher at nationals. We learned a lot at the regional competition and feel we can advance based on that."

Other schools in attendance at the regional conference were Pittsburg State University, Wayne State University, Southwestern College of Oklahoma and the University of Wyoming.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu