FHSU long-time employees honored at annual ceremony

More than 30 Fort Hays State University employees are scheduled to be recognized Dec. 19 for their service to the university at FHSU's 17th annual Awards Ceremony and Holiday Party.

Awards will be presented to honor faculty and staff who have served the university for 10, 20 and 30 years. The Alumni Association will present awards to 25-year employees.

10-year awards:
Paul Adams, professor of teacher education.
Michael Bartell, Power Plant.
Ted Basgall, Campus Custodial.
Ruth Bollig, Campus Custodial.
Susan Boos, associate professor of nursing.
Judith Channell, Registrar's Office.
Liane Connelly, associate professor of nursing.
Julius Dreiling, Grounds Maintenance.
David Giebler, Physics and Chemistry Departments.
Rosemary Johnson, Sternberg Operations.
Joyce Klaus, Personnel Department.
Brian Mangum, Beach/Schmidt technical director.
Germaine Taggart, associate professor of teacher education.
Steven Trout, associate professor of English.
Simone Werth, Financial Assistance office.

20-year awards:
Paul Faber, Dean of College of Arts and Sciences and professor of philosophy.
Joy Fischer, assistant director of the Senior Companion and Foster Grandparent Programs.
Kerrie Fitch, College of Education and Technology.
Suzanne Klaus, Web site manager.
Elmer Pfeifer, coordinator, Data Communications.
Melissa Rudell, Agriculture Department.
Judith Salm, Forsyth Library.
Howard Sloan, instructor of accounting and information systems.
Brent Spaulding, associate professor of agriculture.
Kevin Staab, Center for Teaching Excellence and Learning Technology.
Chaiwat Thumsujarit, professor of art.
25-year Alumni Association Awards:
John Allen, manager, Printing Services.
Elgerine Gross, Health and Human Performance Department.
Richard Leeson, professor of English.
Kathleen Meier, Communication Studies Department.
Gary Millhollen, professor of geosciences.
Stephen Shapiro, Communication Studies Department, director of theatre.

30-year awards:
Alvin Hearne, Computing and Telecommunications Center.
William Kennedy, Residential Life operator.
Robert Nicholson, professor of biological sciences.
Fred Ruda, chair of Department of Technology Studies, professor of technology studies.
Zoran Stevanov, professor of art.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu