FHSU students win undergraduate student paper competition

Three Fort Hays State University students took first place for a paper they wrote together at the 132nd annual Kansas Academy of Science Meeting in Hutchinson, KS, on April 1.

Matthew Hund, Leavenworth senior, Jeffrey Ruda, Colby junior, and Daniel Stunkel, Linn senior, won first place for their paper "Characterization and performance analysis of a Beowulf-Class Parallel Multi-Computer."

William Peterson, Atwood senior, and Andrew Prideaux, Salina senior, presented their paper "Absorbing boundary conditions and the time dependent propagation of wave packets."

Jared Hund, Wichita, Nicholas Jensen, Hays sophomore, and Jesse Schmidtberger, Hays junior, presented their paper "Characterization of high temperature ceramic oxygen sensor."

Jared Hund also presented a paper titled "Quantitative x-ray diffraction of bioceramic materials."

The research for these papers took place under the direction of Dr. G.D. Buffington, assistant professor of physics.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu