LEADOFF a great success for four Fort Hays State University groups

Thirty Fort Hays State University students participated in the second LEADOFF, a leadership training activity sponsored by the Center for Civic Leadership, the Student Affairs Office, the Student Government Association and the University Activities Board.

LEADOFF, Sept. 12 and 13, was at Camp Aldrich, neat Great Bend.

"Going to LEADOFF broadened my definition for what teamwork, trust and fun really are," said Bobby Lloyd, Wakefield senior and SGA vice president.

Activities at LEADOFF included a rope course, student leadership training and keynote speaker Sandy Jacobs, executive vice president of the Community Banking Division of Sunflower Bank.

"LEADOFF was an outstanding way to hear from people my age on issues that I love to study," said Austin Pyle, Hays junior. "Each speaker helped me understand more about issues such as communication and strategic planning in a fun environment."

Students who participated in LEADOFF are listed by hometown and classification.

Anthony: Joseph Hall, freshman, and Mitchell Hall, senior.
Buhler: Tiffany French, freshman.
Cawker City: Melinda Bock, sophomore, and Melodie Bock, senior.
Clay Center: Bobby Lloyd, senior.
Dodge City: Kelley Kuhlmann, senior, Carrie McMillen, junior, and Clint Myers, senior.
Gardner: Lindsay Ronnau, senior.
Great Bend: Lexie Manning, senior.
Greensburg: Justin Greenleaf, special student.
Hays: Katie Affentranger, junior; Brett Aten, junior; Sarah Braun, junior; Michaela Jackson, sophomore; Aaron Kruse, sophomore; Austin Pyle, junior; and Veronica Reynolds, junior.
Jennings: Jacque McKenna, senior.
Lindsborg: Sara Schwantes, sophomore.
Manhattan: Brian Carlson, junior.
Medicine Lodge: Kylie Colsen, senior.
Montezuma: Cassandra Jantz, senior.
Osborne: Janine Reed, junior.
Scotts Bluff, NE: Barbra Winter, freshman.
Stafford: Kiley Eisenhour, freshman.
Sublette: Jennifer Vogts, junior.
Salina: Chris Affholder, senior, Tom Hatfield, senior, and Angela Stenfors, senior.
Topeka: Leslie Morgan, sophomore.
Wichita: Sarah Husling, senior.
Wellington: Erika Taylor, sophomore.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu