FHSU nursing faculty attends KSNA annual convention

Several Fort Hays State University nursing faculty members recently attended the Kansas State Nurses Association's 91st Annual Convention, held jointly with the Kansas Association of Nursing Students Convention in Kansas City, KS.

FHSU alumni elected to office for KSNA were Laura Hamlin, who was elected to the Board of Directors, and Sally Schmidt, assistant professor of nursing at FHSU, who was elected as the American Nurses Association Alternate Delegate. Dr. Mary Hassett, department chair and professor of nursing at FHSU, and chair of KSNA, was elected to head the Psychiatric/Mental Heath Nursing Conference Group.

Recognized at the awards luncheon were FHSU alumnus and outgoing KSNA President Terri Casey Johnson, who received an Honorary Recognition Award, which is KSNA's most prestigious award; Schmidt and Jane Peterson, associate professor of nursing at FHSU, were recognized for the Best District Newsletter Group II. Schmidt, also an alumnus of FHSU, was recognized for Excellence in Nursing Continuing Education.

Representing the Fort Hays Association of Nursing Students were Jennifer Butler, Hays junior, Barb Gilley, Brewster senior, and Rebecca Applebaugh, assistant professor of nursing.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu