FHSU faculty help conduct workshops for science programs in area schools

Fort Hays State University faculty and educators from five western Kansas school districts -- Logan, LaCrosse, Natoma, Plainville and Hays--are involved in workshops funded through a Kansas Board of Regents Improving Teacher Quality grant provided by the federal "No Child Left Behind" legislation.

The one-year grant provides $60,000 to FHSU and the participating schools for the purpose of enhancing physical science knowledge on the part of the 26 teachers involved.

All kindergarten through eighth-grade teachers from Logan and LaCrosse, four kindergarten through eighth-grade teachers from Plainville, three middle level teachers from Natoma, three elementary teachers from Roosevelt in Hays and three elementary teachers from O?Loughlin in Hays attended a workshop in August. Follow-up workshops were conducted in September and are scheduled for November.

Teachers have developed and implemented action plans consistent with school and district goals in science. Grant staff will support the teachers through the workshops, internet communications and visits to the school sites.

Nancy Costigan-Talbott, former USD 489 Hays teacher, is a content and pedagogy consultant for the grant.

Fort Hays State University faculty involved include Dr. Germaine Taggart, associate professor of teacher education; Dr. Paul Adams, Marian Pfister Anschutz Endowed Professor of Education; and Lanee Young, instructor of mathematics and computer science.

The grant is renewable for a three-year period.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu