Mitchell Hall named Torch Award winner; Land receives Pilot Award

HAYS, KS -- Mitchell Hall, Anthony senior and president of Fort Hays State University's Student Government Association, was named Friday as the recipient of the Torch Award as the outstanding graduating senior from the Class of 2005.

Hall will receive a bachelor of arts in political science at Commencement, which begins at 10 a.m. Saturday, May 14, in Gross Memorial Coliseum on the FHSU campus.

The announcement of the Torch Award came at the annual Graduate and Faculty Brunch, sponsored by the FHSU Alumni Association. The Pilot Award for outstanding faculty member and the Navigator Award for outstanding faculty advisor were also announced at the brunch.

Dr. Carol Patrick Land, chair of the Department of Psychology, was the Pilot Award recipient and Jill Stafford, instructor of leadership studies, received the Navigator Award as outstanding advisor.

The Alumni Association instituted the Torch and Pilot awards in 1974 to emphasize the importance of excellence in teaching and learning. They are presented every year at the Graduate and Faculty Brunch in advance of Commencement.

The Torch Award candidates are nominated by members of the faculty on the basis of classroom excellence, participation in professional organizations and involvement in student or civic activities. The Pilot Award is given on the basis of classroom excellence, ongoing research and service activities. Candidates are nominated by graduating seniors.

This year, degrees will be awarded to 1,374 graduates: 57 associate's degrees, 293 graduate degrees and 1,024 bachelor's degrees.

The Alumni Association, established in 1916, is dedicated to identifying and serving the needs of more than 36,000 graduates living throughout the United States and 61 foreign countries.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |