Kansas leaders to gather in Hays for inaugural meeting of the Center for Civic Leadership's advisory board

Congressman Jerry Moran will lead an all-star contingent of Kansas leaders to Hays on Wednesday, Aug. 27, for the first meeting of the advisory board for Fort Hays State University's Center for Civic Leadership.

The CCL was established last fall as an outgrowth of the university's Department of Leadership Studies to foster and promote the development of "citizen leaders" who will address and solve community issues, said Dr. Curt Brungardt, acting director of the CCL and chair of the Leadership Studies Department.

"At this first meeting, we will recap the history of leadership initiatives at FHSU, present an overview of leadership theory, review ongoing leadership projects, and decide on the direction and vision for the CCL," Brungardt said. The meeting is scheduled for noon to 2 p.m. Wednesday in the Field Conference Room in FHSU's Sheridan Hall.

Brungardt said the members of the advisory committee would report on their work and take questions from the media and interested citizens immediately following the meeting -- from 2 to 2:30 p.m. in Sheridan Hall's Dreiling Lobby.

In addition to Rep. Moran and Brungardt, the members of the CCL advisory board include:

* Kansas Gov. Kathleen Sebelius (the governor will not be able to attend the advisory board meeting because of a prior commitment, but she will send a representative in her place);

* Sheila Frahm, Colby, executive director of the Kansas Association of Community College Trustees and a former Kansas senator;

* Reggie Robinson, Topeka, president and CEO of the Kansas Board of Regents;

* Cliff Hope, Garden City, author, retired lawyer and former state senator;

* Dr. Larry Gould, FHSU provost;

* Cheryl Higgins, McPherson, executive vice president of the McPherson Chamber of Commerce;

* Christie Brungardt, Hays, instructor of leadership studies at FHSU;

* Jean Cavanaugh, Great Bend school board member;

* Gail Kuehl, owner-operator of McDonald's in Hays, Russell and WaKeeney;

* Daron Jamison, special assistant to Dr. Edward H. Hammond, FHSU president; and

* Mitch Hall, FHSU student body president.
The CCL will serve a broad range of individuals who have an interest in leadership at the youth, collegiate and community levels, offering a variety of programs that include youth leadership camps, workshops, leadership training for FHSU students, conferences, and leadership development for community businesses and organizations.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu