FHSU students receive journalism awards

HAYS, KS -- Several Fort Hays State University students received awards from the Rocky Mountain College Media Association. The association covers a 14-state region. Students on the staffs of FHSU's yearbook, Reveille, and twice-weekly newspaper, The University Leader, submitted work and competed with students in the Small Four-year College category.

The Reveille tied for second place overall. Points were determined by the number of awards the publication received. Reveille staff members placed in all but one of the yearbook contests. The staff received second for overall use of color in a yearbook.

Students who received awards are listed below by hometown.

ATCHISON: Chad Simon, former student, second in yearbook sports story.

CONCORDIA: Rachel Bell, senior, first in newspaper photo story and second in newspaper special sections.

HAYS: Jennifer Pfeifer, senior, first in newspaper ad campaign; Devin Strecker, senior, third in yearbook layout, fourth in yearbook theme, second in yearbook copy, second in yearbook special effect photo, and second in yearbook cover; Rebecca Blocksome, junior, honorable mention in newspaper newswriting, second in yearbook student life story, fourth in yearbook academic life story.

IOLA: Dennis Edson, sophomore, honorable mention in newspaper news photo, fourth in yearbook sports photo and first in yearbook picture story.

SENECA: Andrea Blehm, junior, fourth in yearbook black and white photo and fourth in yearbook color photo.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu