FHSU Music Department announces Presser Scholar

Jamie Hickel, WaKeeney senior, has been awarded the $4,000 Presser Scholarship for the 2003-2004 academic year at Fort Hays State University.

The scholarship, which is awarded by the Presser Foundation, is awarded to an "outstanding senior music major." The Presser Foundation awards grants to various collegiate music programs across the nation, and Fort Hays State University has been awarded the grant for the first time this year.

Hickel was nominated for the award by Dr. Rager Moore II, associate professor of music, and the entire Music Department faculty made the final vote.

Moore did not think twice about which student to nominate.

"Jamie has been a voice student of mine since she was a sophomore in high school," he said. "I admire her for what she's capable of doing, so to me it was a no-brainer."

Dr. Tim Crowley, chair of the department, said Hickel is an "incredibly talented student" who is active in many areas of the department.

The Presser Foundation is a major national philanthropy established in a bequest from the will of the late music publisher Theodore Presser.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu