FHSU students complete 'Leaderville' training

Twenty Fort Hays State University students earned certificates for completing the university's inaugural Leaderville Series.

The FHSU Center for Civic Leadership -- which was created to foster and promote the development of citizens and "citizen leaders" who will address and solve community problems -- planned and implemented the Leaderville Series. This effort was headed by Collegiate Leadership Development Coordinator Alisha Renberger, a Derby junior.

The Leaderville Series was created to promote leadership and help develop leaders on the campus of FHSU. It consisted of six training sessions, which dealt with a variety of topics geared towards college students. The topics included: Teambuilding, Motivation, Goal Setting, Time/Stress Management, Creative Problem Solving, and Personal Leadership Development. Various speakers from the college and the Hays community were invited to speak at each of the sessions.

The Center for Civic Leadership honored the following students for completing the Spring 2003 Leaderville Series: Shelly Alefs, Great Bend senior; Dawn Applegarth, Palisade, NE, senior; Kaleen Braun, Hays sophomore; Renee Bueno, Garden City senior; Allison Chaput, Oakley freshman; Laura Huslig, Wichita freshman; Sheri Keller, Ulysses senior; Kari Leisher, Ulysses junior; Bindhu Madathil, Liberal senior; Jennifer Mayers, Great Bend junior; Jennifer McNeil, Topeka freshman; Irene Mong, WaKeeney junior; Aaron Oleen, Dwight senior; Brenda Prewo, Hays junior; Mary Ruggiero, Lindsborg senior; Bethany Skinner, Hays senior; Natalie Trejo, Ulysses senior; Kendra Wise, Ellinwood junior; Melissa Wiseman, Edwardsville sophomore; and Heidi Zeigler, Natoma sophomore.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu