FHSU Endowment Association elects new officers, trustees

The Fort Hays State University Endowment Association Board of Trustees met recently and elected officers and trustees for 2003-04. Ken Havner, Hays, was elected chair and Jack Feiden, Wichita, vice chair, to the Board of Trustees.

Executive Committee members elected were Denis Miller, Phillipsburg, Gail Kuehl, Hays, and Lon Pishny, Garden City. Other Executive Committee members include Kerry McQueen, Liberal, Jerry Anderson, Kinsley, Ken Frahm, Colby, and Harold Stones, Topeka.

New members elected to the board of trustees:

Max Bruce, Leawood, earned a bachelor's degree in business administration from FHSU in 1970. He is the owner of Focus Financial Group. He is a financial planner, a member of the Underwriters Million Dollar Roundtable and a Wooster Society Member. His wife, Ruth, also attended FHSU.

Sharon Dreher, Hays, earned a bachelor's degree in marketing in 1978 from FHSU and a master's degree in business administration in 1981. She is the vice-president of Human Resources at Midwest Energy Inc. Dreher was named the Business Woman of the Year by the Hays Area Chamber of Commerce for 2003 and is a past chair of the Chamber. She has been a volunteer for the Association?s Community Fund Drive.

Drew Riedel, Hays, earned a bachelor's degree in technology studies from FHSU in 1972. He is co-owner of Tri-Central Office Supply. Riedel was a volunteer for the Endowment Association's Community Fund Drive for many years and served as its chair in1998. He is an Ambassador for the Hays Area Chamber of Commerce. His wife, Connie, also graduated from FHSU.

John Tomlinson, Westminster, CO, earned a bachelor's degree in 1952 from FHSU and a master's degree in 1953, each in history. He is the former president of Mesa State College. Tomlinson was the 1994 Alumni Achievement Award recipient, is a member of the Half-Century Club and is past divisional chair and an instructor in political science at FHSU. His wife, Elvera, is also a graduate of FHSU.

The FHSU Endowment Association is a non-profit organization that raises funds to support and promote educational undertakings at Fort Hays State University. Gifts donated to the association, and income generated from those gifts, are used for scholarships, loans, departmental programs, faculty development and overall enrichment of the university.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu