Crist named Torch Award winner; Mills areceived Pilot Award

Jason Crist was named today, May 12, as the recipient of the Torch Award as the outstanding graduating senior from the Class of 2006 at Fort Hays State University.

Crist, the son of Jeff and Barb Crist, Bennington, and a graduate of Bennington High School, will receive a bachelor of science in mathematics and a bachelor of science in secondary education at Commencement, which begins at 10 a.m. Saturday, May 13, in Gross Memorial Coliseum on the FHSU campus.

The announcement of the Torch Award came at the annual Graduate and Faculty Brunch, sponsored by the FHSU Alumni Association. The Pilot Award for outstanding faculty member and the Navigator Award for outstanding faculty advisor were also announced at the brunch. The recipients will sit on the platform and be recognized at Commencement.

Dr. Shala Mills, associate professor of political science, was the Pilot Award recipient and Jennie Straight, assistant professor of communication studies, received the Navigator Award as outstanding advisor.

The Alumni Association instituted the Torch and Pilot awards in 1974 to emphasize the importance of excellence in teaching and learning. They are presented every year at the Graduate and Faculty Brunch in advance of Commencement.

The Torch Award candidates are nominated by members of the faculty on the basis of classroom excellence, participation in professional organizations and involvement in student or civic activities. The Pilot Award is given on the basis of classroom excellence, ongoing research and service activities. Candidates are nominated by graduating seniors.

The Alumni Association, established in 1916, is dedicated to identifying and serving the needs of more than 38,000 graduates living throughout the United States and 61 foreign countries.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |