FHSU branch of Sigma Tau Delta selected as organization of the year

The Fort Hays State University chapter of Sigma Tau Delta has been recognized as the organization of the year by the International English Honor Society. Celebrity and local business auctions, book and bake sales, participating in "Make a Difference Day," raising money for the English Department, and the literary journal Lines, are just a few of the activities that earned FHSU's chapter of Sigma Tau Delta this recognition.

Rho Psi, the FHSU chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, will officially accept the $350 award at the annual Sigma Tau Delta Convention in Cincinnati from March 20-23.

"I am very excited about this award recognizing the English Honor Society," said Dr. John Kerrigan, assistant professor of English. "We have had a very active chapter at Fort Hays State. Although I have only been on the faculty for three years, our chapter has earned and sustained nationwide recognition and respect for many years before that. Our faculty co-sponsor, Kristine Bair, served as a national representative, as High Plains Regent, for several years."

The officers of Sigma Tau Delta are president Leanne Miller, LaCrosse senior; vice president Amy Briggs, Gove special student; treasurer Amanda Rodriguez, Goodland senior; and secretary Jenny Lang, Hays senior. The faculty advisors are instructor Kris Bair, instructor Chris Luehrs, and Kerrigan.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu