FHSU students attend Midwest Model United Nations conference in St. Louis

Fort Hays State University Model UN members attended the 43rd annual Midwest Model UN Convention in St. Louis, MO, from Feb. 12-15.

Matt Billinger, Hays sophomore, and Josh Kingsley, Hays senior, won Best Delegate Awards. Forty-five universities from all over the United States were at the convention representing a different delegation. FHSU students spent the fall and the first part of this semester preparing to portray the Djibouti delegation.

Billinger and Kingsley were delegates to the special political committee that addressed the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. Diane Becker, Lenora sophomore, was a delegate for the issue of biological weapons verification measures. Ryan Schaben, Bazine junior, and Kendall McVay, Plains senior, were delegates to the Economic and Finance Committee. Ashley Depenbusch, Hays freshman, and Melissa Moses, Hutchinson junior, were delegates for the methods to combat the HIV/AIDS epidemic in Africa and human rights in the West Bank and the Gaza Strip, and Mathew Larsen, Ellsworth senior, was the delegate to the International Press Delegation.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu