Oakley, Hays win first-place medals in Science Bowl

Oakley High School was the winner of the varsity event in the Fort Hays State University Science Bowl Jan. 29.

The bowl, sponsored by the FHSU Chapter of the Society of Physics Students, is a tournament similar to Scholars Bowl with questions from biology, chemistry, geoscience, and physics. The event aims to promote the sciences and the FHSU Physics Department. This was the third Science Bowl at FHSU.

Hays High School, Macksville, Oakley, St. John, and TMP-Marian competed in both junior varsity and varsity rounds. Oakley took first in varsity, Hays High came in first place in junior varsity and St. John took home a second-place medal in each division.

SPS members are responsible for every phase of the event, from inviting schools, to writing questions, to running the tournament.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu