Kansas Small Business Development Centers receive FastTrac training

Kansas Small Business Development Center consultants received FastTrac Facilitator Certification from the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation, Oct. 14-18, in Kansas City, MO.

The training certifies the SBDCs in Kansas to provide FastTrac training to start-up and existing businesses throughout the state. The training provides business owners and managers the opportunity to evaluate, perfect and expand the business idea in a safe and supportive environment.

The FastTrac program was developed from extensive research of successful entrepreneurial management tools and traits and provided by the Kauffman Foundation.

The foundation is the nation's largest organization focused solely on entrepreneurial success at all levels. It is also devoted to accelerating entrepreneurship in America by working with entrepreneurs and youth as they discover and pursue their American dreams. The FastTrac business training program is one of many programs that were established to achieve the foundation's goals.

There are three core FastTrac programs, which include FastTrac New Venture, FastTrac Planning and FastTrac Manufacturing.

FastTrac New Venture is targeted for individuals who have a business concept and want to test it for viability. The product of the New Venture program is a feasibility plan.

FastTrac Planning was created to assist existing business owners who want to explore development or growth of their businesses. The outcome of the program is a business plan.

FastTrac Manufacturing, the third program, is based on the planning program but developed specifically to meet the needs of the manufacturer.

For more information on this program or any small business management topic, contact the Kansas Small Business Development Center toll free at 1-877-625-7232.

The consultants who were certified are listed below by their respective SBDC location.

EMPORIA STATE UNIVERSITY: Lisa Brumbaugh; Kay Shaffer.
FORT HAYS STATE UNIVERSITY: Susan Bittel; Sheryl Davis.
GARDEN CITY COMMUNITY COLLEGE: Paula Burt; Alan Oswalt; Pat Veesart.
JOHNSON COUNTY COMMUNITY COLLEGE: Malinda Bryan-Smith; Bob Kolich; Kay Lampe; Cheri Streeter.
KANSAS STATE UNIVERSITY: Fred Rice; Barta Stevenson.
PITTSBURG STATE UNIVERSITY: Betty Remmich; Kathryn Richard; Craig Van Wey.
STATE OFFICE: Stan Compton; Mary Eddy; Wally Kearns.
WASHBURN UNIVERSITY: Curt Clinkinbeard; Les Streit.
WICHITA STATE UNIVERSITY: Mark Buckley; Frank Choriego; Marcia Stevens.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu