FHSU annual ceremony to honor long-time employees

HAYS, KS -- More than 40 Fort Hays State University employees were recognized Dec. 13 for their service to the university at FHSU's 16th annual Awards Ceremony and Holiday Party.

Awards honored faculty and staff who have served the university for 10, 20 and 30 years. The Alumni Association presented awards to 25-year employees.

Below is a listing of the honorees and their positions:

10-year awards:
Debbie Allen, custodial services.
Elaine Augustine, senior administrative assistant for business administration.
Mark Bannister, assistant professor of information networking and telecommunications and chair of the Department of Information Networking and Telecommunications.
Susan Bittel, director of the Small Business Development Center.
Judy Caprez, associate professor of social work.
Dana Cunningham, director, Facilities Planning.
Loretta Dorn, associate professor of chemistry.
Stephanie Eckroat, dairy manager, University Farm.
Mahboub Hashem, professor of communication.
Carolyn Insley, assistant professor of nursing.
Lisa Karlin, assistant to the President.
Linda Leiker, secretary, English Department.
Jackie Maxwell, secretary, Registrar's Office.
Debra Prideaux, executive director for alumni/governmental relations.
Brian Razak, instructor of health and human performance.
Mary Ridgway, art director.
Becky Stites, the Business Office.
Pelgy Vaz, associate professor of sociology.
Harland Werth, assistant crop/shop manager for the University Farm.
Linda Wolfe, counselor support of the Financial Assistance Office.
Georgia Wyatt, Residential Life.

20-year awards:
Angela Barger, reference/periodicals assistant at Forsyth Library.
Brad Dawson, assistant professor of music.
Eva Gould, Center for Teaching Excellence and Learning Technology.
Art Hoernicke, professor of special education.
LuAnn Pfeifer, Registrar's Office.
Jim Rucker, professor of computer and information systems.
Bruce Shubert, vice president for Administration and Finance.
Cary Stremel, production supervisor, Printing Services.
Joe Thomasson, professor of biological sciences.
Duane Weigel, motor pool.

25-year Alumni Association awards:
Jeff Augustine, building maintenance.
Jolene Niernberger, director, Senior Companion Program/Foster Grandparent Program.
Carl Parker, professor of economics and finances.
Joan Rumpel, assistant professor of business administration.
Jean-Marie Salien, professor of modern languages.
Darlene Schippers, the Business Office.
Herb Songer, vice president for Student Affairs.
Steve Wood, director, Memorial Union.

30-year awards:
Allan Busch, professor of history.
Sid Carlile, chief, University Police.
Judith Getty, director, Student Fiscal Services.
Lloyd Panzer, officer, University Police.
Bill Rickman, professor of economics and finances.
Sammie Sexton, instructor of communication disorders.
Jerry Wilson, associate professor of library science.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu