FHSU students visit Fort Riley

Thirty-six students and faculty from Fort Hays State University recently took a field trip to Fort Riley to learn more about the various military applications of geographic information systems and related technologies.

The group got a chance to "fly" a Blackhawk helicopter via a flight simulator then received a guided tour of medical evacuation helicopters on the Marshall Army Airfield. The group then visited the United States Cavalry Museum and took in a virtual reality simulation at the Army's Close Combat Tactical Training Center.

The outing concluded with a trip to the Fort Riley Department of Environment and Safety where students saw examples of how geographic information systems are used to ensure the environmental integrity of the base and the safety of its personnel.

The field trip was conducted by Dr. Tom Schafer, assistant professor of geosciences, and Dr. Richard Lisichenko, assistant professor of geosciences.

"Throughout the field trip," said Lisichenko, "the military and civilian personnel at Fort Riley went out of their way to make our visit both educational and very fun."

Students who went to Fort Riley are listed below by hometown.

BREWSTER: Thomas Bremenkamp, senior.
CATHARINE: Matt Dreiling, graduate.
CIMARRON: Shawna Conine, senior.
DERBY: Sarah Wolf, junior.
EL DORADO: Cory Wick, graduate.
GENESEO: Megan Gray, senior.
GORHAM: Aaron Pratt, special undergraduate.
HAYS: John Askins, junior; Chris Brown, sophomore; Todd Buchanan, graduate; Matt Budke, junior; Shawna Conine, senior; Matt Dreiling, graduate; Sarah Hinojos, senior; Phil Isernhagen, senior; Sam Montoia, senior; Levi Short, graduate; Rob Stoddard, senior; Joey White, senior; Sarah Wolf, junior.
HILL CITY: Joey White, senior.
HUTCHINSON: Levi Short, graduate.
KENSINGTON: Luke Rahjes, freshman.
LA CROSSE: Elaine Bryant, senior.
LENEXA: Rob Stoddard, senior.
MARION: Keith Goentzel, senior.
MISSION: Patrick Yeager, senior.
NORTON: Dustin Herrs, senior.
OVERLAND PARK: Patrick Yeager, senior.
PHILLIPSBURG: Phil Isernhagen, senior.
RUSSELL: Kevin Uphoff, junior.
SMITH CENTER: Chris Brown, sophomore; Jason Conn, junior.
SYRACUSE: Jeff Burch, graduate.
WAKEENEY: Jason Cline, junior; Tyler Lang, freshman; Rhett Mohler, junior.

KANSAS CITY, MO: Andrew Douglas, junior.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu