FHSU hosts fifth annual Electrathon America

Fort Hays State University will host the fifth annual Electrathon America High Plains Rally Thursday, Oct. 17.
Electrathon is a race for electric cars built and maintained by high schools. Two electric car classes will be featured this year, the experimental class and the standard class.

The races are sponsored in part by FHSU's Department of Technology Studies as well as area electric companies.

This year's Electrathon will be held at Gross Memorial Coliseum's north parking lot, with registration beginning at 7 a.m.

Each team will complete the appropriate forms and the drivers will be weighed. Race vehicle inspection starts at 8 a.m. Race decals will then be issued to those cars that will be allowed to race. Two meetings with the race steward will follow.

The experimental class will be the first to race, at 11 a.m. Two heats of standard class racing will follow, at 12:30 p.m. and 2 p.m. The event will conclude directly after the awards ceremony, which is scheduled to begin at 3:30 p.m.

Winners are determined by the amount of laps they are able to complete within the allotted hour for each race.

Twenty-five cars from 13 entered high schools are expected. Room is still available for prospective entrants.

Registration is open to race day. Those interested in entering should contact Joseph Chretien, assistant professor of technology studies, at (785) 628-4314.

FHSU's Electrathon adheres to Electrathon and Kansas ElectroRally rules for the vehicles and races. They can be viewed at www.electrathonamerica.org and www.pinnaclet.com/ker/.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu