FHSU students initiated into honor society

Officers of the Fort Hays State University chapter of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation's oldest interdisciplinary honor society, have selected students and faculty as new members based on academic achievements and character.

Those eligible included last-term juniors in the upper 5 percent of their class and the upper 10 percent for seniors. Also eligible are outstanding graduate students and faculty. The initiation ceremony was held at 5 p.m. on April 14 in the Fort Hays Ballroom of the Memorial Union.

Dr. Jean Gleichsner, associate professor of agriculture and chapter president, said, "Phi Kappa Phi recognizes excellence in academics across all disciplines. Thus, membership in Phi Kappa Phi truly recognizes FHSU's best and brightest." Phi Kappa Phi members are high achievers who number more than one million worldwide.

Phi Kappa Phi awards $380,000 annually in national fellowships for first-year graduate study; offers $50,000 in Promotion of Excellence grants each triennium, sponsors internship and study abroad grants for undergraduates and recognizes renowned scholars and artists through its scholar and artist competitions. In addition to its national programs, Phi Kappa Phi's local chapters award more than $150,000 in scholarships each year.

Jill M. Bruna, Bremen sophomore, finance; and Sarah Marie Demuth, Hays junior, music; were designated as the scholarship winners for the FHSU chapter; both of whom were awarded $500 each. The nominee for the national fellowship competition is Kyle D. Dohm, Sharon senior, general science.

Members are listed below by hometown.

AXTELL: Kyra Pokorny, junior, biology
CAWKER CITY: Melodie J. Bock, junior, biology; Brandi Nyhoff, junior, accounting
CUBA: Jonathon W. Joy, senior, agribusiness
ELLIS: Cheryl Lynette Helget, graduate student
ELLINWOOD: Erin J. Hammer, senior, history
GARDEN CITY: Bryan M. Kruleski, senior, radiologic technology
GENESEO: Tracy S. Schmidt, junior, finance
HAYS: Kimberly Ann Campbell, senior, biology; Christopher A. Colwell, junior, music education; Sara L. Deeds, senior, art; Sarah Marie Demuth, junior, music; Kate Denning, senior, physics; Tracy A. Kramer, senior, elementary education; Jenny P. Lang, junior, English; Sally Schmidt, graduate student; Chris D. Vancil, graduate student; Janell Dawn Williams, graduate student, psychology
HILL CITY: Joseph Lee White, senior, information networking and telecommunications
HOXIE: Whitney Brown, junior, accounting; Jessica Torluemke, junior, finance
JOHNSON: Shawn Marie Peterson, senior, marketing
KINGMAN: Mindie Marie Moore, senior, psychology
LEBANON: Jennifer Merritt, junior, speech-language pathology
LEOTI: Morgan A. Campas, senior, sociology; Jennifer Mullen, senior, elementary education
LINDSBORG: Anna Anderson, senior, radiologic technology
MANHATTAN: Helen M. Petrik, junior, general studies
MCPHERSON: Chaunzey Rierson, junior, physical education
MEDICINE LODGE: Elizabeth Toepfer, senior, psychology
MONTEZUMA: Laura C. Mertens, junior, biology
NATOMA: Danielle R. Zeigler, senior, geography
NESS CITY: Melissa S. Slagle, senior, physical education
NORTON: Kevin M. Bailey, graduate student
OAKLEY: J.J. Wright, senior, communication
PHILLIPSBURG: Tiffany Marie Charbonneau, senior, communication
QUINTER: Mark A. Lorenz, junior, radiologic technology
SALINA: Lisa M. Conn, 832 Martin, senior, nursing
SYLVIA: Michael A. Liebl, senior, computer science
TAMPA: Janie Rziha, junior, philosophy
VERMILLION: Robin M. Deters, junior, mathematics
VICTORIA: Michael K. Brungardt, junior, management; Michele Unrein, graduate student
WICHITA: Megan Ann Palmer, 1645 Woodridge, junior, political science

BROKEN BOW, NE: Sabrina L. Jensen, junior, foreign language
BROWNVILLE, NE: Katherine Gentert, junior, speech-language pathology
MOAB, UT: K.C. Hawks Jr., senior, history

Dr. Alireza M. Farahani, associate professor of computer and information systems; Marla S. Staab, clinical coordinator of communication disorders; Dr. Pelgy R. Vaz, associate professor of sociology.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu