2002 Pilot Award nominees announced

Members of the senior class at Fort Hays State University have nominated 19 faculty members for the 2002 Pilot Award.

The Pilot Award is an annual recognition of an FHSU faculty member. Nominees will be judged on the criteria of professional excellence, standards of personal conduct and commitment to good teaching.

Nominees will be recognized at the Graduate Faculty Brunch at 11:30 a.m. on May 17. The brunch honors all FHSU graduating students and is sponsored by the Alumni Association.

The winner of the Pilot Award will be announced at the FHSU Commencement ceremony on May 18.
Nominees are listed below.

Professors: Dr. Fred Britten, communication disorders; Dr. Charles Wilhelm, communication disorders; Dr. Raymond Wilson, history.

Associate professors: Rose Arnhold, chair of the Department of Sociology and Social Work; Sue Boos, nursing; Dr. Curt Brungardt, leadership studies; Dr. Gavin Buffington, physics; Dr. Liane Connelly, nursing; Dr. Cheryl Hofstetter Duffy, English; Dr. Ali Farahani, computer information systems; Dr. Richard Heil, political science; John Huber, music; Dr. Richard Hughen, philosophy; Glen McNeil, health and human performance; Dr. Robert Scott, justice studies.

Assistant professors: Dr. Debbie Mercer, teacher education; Roland Neseth, interim chair of the Department of Allied Health; Dr. Carol Patrick, psychology.

Instructor: Gladys Swindler, computer information systems.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu