Area students inducted into FHSU nursing honorary during 10th anniversary celebration

Nu Zeta, the Fort Hays State University chapter of the international nursing honor society Sigma Theta Tau, celebrated its 10th anniversary with a formal banquet on April 27.

Dr. Fay Bower, international past-president of Sigma Theta Tau, delivered the keynote address. Also present were the five past presidents of the FHSU chapter: Dr. Martha Morgan Sanders, Beth Fisher, JoAnn Doan, LuAnn Evert and Donna Stephenson, all former faculty in the nursing program.

Current Nu Zeta chapter President Dr. Janice Unruh Davidson, professor of nursing, presented the following inaugural awards for honorary recognition: Dr. Mary Hassett, chair of the Department of Nursing, for excellence in nursing education; Mary Blubaugh, summer 1998 graduate from Phillipsburg, for excellence in nursing leadership; Sue George, El Dorado former student, for excellence in nursing practice; and Dr. Liane Connelly, associate professor of nursing, for excellence in interdisciplinary collaboration.

Hassett, chair of the research awards committee, presented the inaugural L. Ileene Allen awards for excellence in nursing research to Jane Peterson, assistant professor of nursing, as novice nurse researcher; and to Dr. Eileen Deges Curl, coordinator of graduate nursing studies, as expert nurse researcher.

Allen, who taught nursing at FHSU from 1968 until her death from a chronic respiratory ailment in 1999, was one of the founders of the Nu Zeta chapter. Had she lived, she would have retired this year.

During the evening's events, three newly-elected officers were installed: Dr. Nancy Blume, associate professor of nursing, as faculty counselor; Jenny Manry, spring 2002 graduate from Larned, as secretary; and Judy Folsom, spring 1966 graduate from Hays, as a representative to the nominating committee.

Twenty-two new members were inducted into the Nu Zeta honorary. Students are listed below by hometown and classification.

ATWOOD: Sheri Rizner, spring 2002 graduate
BELLEVILLE: Rebecca Brown, graduate student
BELOIT: Rhonda Mehl, junior
BURR OAK: Michell Harris, fall 2001 graduate
CLAFLIN: Rita Stueder, graduate student
CONCORDIA: Robyn Burwell, graduate student
COUNCIL GROVE: Kiley Pracht, senior
DODGE CITY: Debbie Noble, senior
HAYS: Janet Crawford, graduate student; Lottie Porsi, university nurse; Kathryn Roberds, senior
HUTCHINSON: Barbara Starks, fall 2001 graduate
KENSINGTON: Stephanie Burkholder, senior
LIBERAL: Jana Daigle, graduate student
MCPHERSON: Pamela Schmidt, spring 2002 graduate
NESS CITY: Brenda Dinges, spring 2002 graduate
SALINA: Tara Mango, spring 2002 graduate, 1401 Adam Travis Court
SPEARVILLE: Dana Tasset, spring 2002 graduate
STOCKTON: Rhonda Schenk, graduate student
WAMEGO: Wanda Schumacher, graduate student

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |