Members of honorary agriculture society compete at national convention

Four members of FHSU's Delta Tau Alpha chapter attended the 43rd annual DTA convention at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro, AR.

Delta Tau Alpha is a national agriculture society for students who rank in the upper 35 percent of his or her class and have completed 45 credit hours, of which nine credit hours have been agriculture courses.

Matt Deyle, Imperial, NE, senior, was one of three members who won for the Ag Olympics event, taking third place. Mark Howerton, Lyons junior, was the chapter delegate for the team which ultimately won the Corbus Award. Scott Evans, Bucklin junior, won second place and Brandon Baugh, Dodge City junior, also participated in the effort to help DTA win the Corbus Award for the fourth year in a row.

The Corbus Award is an award given to chapters that have an outstanding DTA chapter based on a scrapbook of chapter activities.

Deyle, Evans and Baugh also competed in the Ag Quiz Bowl.

Dr. Jean Gleichsner, chapter advisor, accompanied the group.

Chapter sponsor Dr. Bob Stephenson was recently re-elected for his sixth two-year term as the National DTA treasurer.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |