Finck, Gleichsner and Tramel honored with spring 2006 faculty awards

Three Fort Hays State University professors have been recognized for excellence in the spring 2006 faculty awards program.

Dr. Elmer Finck, professor of biological sciences, Dr. Jean Gleichsner, associate professor of agriculture, and Dr. Stephen Tramel, professor of philosophy, were recognized by a faculty committee for their contributions to the university and to the student body.

The faculty recognition program rewards outstanding instructors nominated by each of the four colleges of the university. Recipients are selected by a committee chaired or appointed by the respective college deans.

Finck received the Faculty Research Award for his performance in the College of Health and Life Sciences. The awards committee cited Finck for his impressive contributions in the areas of basic and applied research, publication, professional editing and leadership, and undergraduate and graduate student education in his areas of expertise. Finck is also the Biology Department's first wildlife biologist.

"Dr. Finck is a valued member of the department, college and university, and is a model for other faculty in his department," said Dr. Greg Farley, associate professor of biological sciences, in a nomination letter. "His greatest strengths may extend beyond his research productivity; he is a passionate, dedicated and knowledgeable academic."

Gleichsner also received the Faculty Service Award for her performance in the College of Health and Life Sciences. Gleichsner was commended for her long history of service involvement at FHSU and her continual pursuit of activities that benefit and support the department, university and community.

"Jean's service efforts are meaningful and applicable to our program and her success with them reflects well on the department and university," said Dr. John Greathouse, chair of the Department of Agriculture, in a nomination letter.

Tramel received the Faculty Teaching Award for the College of Arts and Sciences for his commitment to teaching undergraduate students while honoring numerous commitments to the school and to the community.

"I cannot begin to imagine all the good produced as a result of his teaching, working and caring for the welfare of our students," said Dr. Gene Rice, assistant professor of philosophy, in a nomination letter.

Finck, Gleichsner and Tramel each received a check for $500, a note cube and a university lapel pin that signifies teaching excellence. The university provides two-thirds of the financial award and the other third comes from Commerce Bank of Hays, which established a fund with the university to help recognize outstanding faculty teaching.

Three more faculty will be honored in the fall.

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |