FHSU literary and arts journal wins national award

"Lines," the student literary and arts journal of Fort Hays State University, earned a national award in April for the 2005 edition.

The Literary Journal Award was conferred by Sigma Tau Delta, the international English Honor Society. Only two student collegiate literary magazines in the nation were chosen to receive this honor, which carries a $350 prize that will be used to help defray future printing costs of the journal.

The journal is in its 16th year of publication. A student production, "Lines" prints poetry, stories and artwork, primarily by FHSU students although some alumni or faculty work is included. All FHSU students are welcome to submit their literature or artwork. The submissions are read in an anonymous process by an editorial board of FHSU students who also may be in any major or grade classification.

"Lines" is affiliated with the Department of English and receives mail in that office. The funding to print the journal is allocated each year by the Student Government Association (SGA), without which the journal’s publication would not be possible.

While winning the award was a collaborative effort by many people involved with the FHSU literary journal, the application was completed by Amy Morris, Overland Park senior, who served as assistant editor for 2005; Susan Deges, Ogallah and Rush Center senior); Melissa Mikesell, Salina senior; and Dr. Amy Cummins, assistant professor of English. The designer was graduate student and graphic designer Jonathon Russell, who earned his master of fine arts in graphic design in July 2005.

The application described the quality and selection process for the journal, the purposes “Lines” serves on its campus and the strength of the local chapter of Sigma Tau Delta. FHSU has had an active chapter of the English Honor Society since 1989 and is currently advised by Cummins and Dr. Sharla Hutchison, assistant professor of English.

"This award reflects well on the quality of education and mentoring provided by the FHSU Departments of English and Art and on the university as a whole," said Cummins.

The National Literary Journal Award was conferred on FHSU at the annual Sigma Tau Delta convention held in Portland, OR, from March 29 to April 1, 2006.

FHSU had three English majors presenting papers at the convention: Krystal Baugher, Greeley senior); Theresa Kraisinger, Otis senior), and Morris. The three papers gave new interpretations of literary classics. They were originally written for classes taught by FHSU faculty members Dr. Steven Trout, professor of English, Hutchison and Cummins.

Also attending the convention from FHSU were Chris Scheideman, Great Bend senior, Cummins, Linda Leiker, senior administrative assistant for the Department of English, and Dr. Carl Singleton, professor of English.
At the convention, delegates attended sessions by fellow students around the nation and by famous writers and participated in a business meeting and regional caucus. Kraisinger, who served as FHSU’s chapter president for the current academic year, was elected by her peers at other institutions to be the Associate Student Representative (ASR) for the entire High Plains Region.

"I am thrilled that 'Lines' won the Sigma Tau Delta Literary Journal Award because it reflects the superior quality of student work at FHSU," said Morris. " 'Lines is an important publication, offering students the opportunity to produce and receive recognition for their creative pursuits."

Deges emphasized that she appreciated the support of the SGA for funding the journal and FHSU Printing Services for its work. She said in her Editor’s Note for the 2005 edition, "I extend my appreciation to all who submitted to the journal; your willingness to share your talents makes this journal a success."

"The success of this journal demonstrates the talents and motivation of Fort Hays students and showcases the outstanding education provided by FHSU," said Cummins.
Six FHSU students were on the editorial board which chose the selections for the 2005 edition: Kelly Chrisman, Winfield senior; Kayci Strickland, Hoisington graduate student; Michelle Swayne, Hays senior; Autumn Thomas, Osborne sophomore; Elizabeth Ulrich, Hays senior; and Amy Walker, Lenexa graduate student.

The next edition of “Lines” will be available in August 2006.

The honor of being published in the 2005 edition is held by 14 FHSU students, listed by hometown and classification:

Bushton: Jessica Cheshire, junior
Cimarron: Katie Stucky, junior
Hays: Sharon Craig, sophomore
Garden Plain: Jennifer R. Meyer, junior
Great Bend: Tammy Miller, sophomore
Halstead: Dominic Flask, senior
Hill City: Morgan Chalfant, sophomore
Hutchinson: Anthony Palacios, special student
LaCrosse: Laurie Copeland, special student
Norton: Brandi Withington, senior
Oberlin: Merlou Robinson, non-degree seeking student
Rose Hill: Alyssa Rogers, senior
Salina: Matthew Reed, special student
Smolan: Crystal Hammerschmidt, senior

Back to Index

Office of University Relations   |  600 Park Street   |  Hays, KS  67601-4099
(785) 628-4206   |   Fax (785) 628-4152
Kent Steward, Director   |  ksteward@fhsu.edu  |  Kurt Beyers, Assistant Director   |  kbeyers@fhsu.edu